Skip to main content

Here are the nominees for the world’s largest award for children’s and YA literature

Press Release   •   Oct 11, 2018 16:00 GMT

Illustration made by Ida Björs

Next year, 246 candidates from 64 countries will be in the running for the world’s largest and most prestigious children’s literature award, the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award, and receive five million Swedish krona ($600,000, £430,000). This was announced today by ALMA jury chairman Professor Boel Westin at the Frankfurt Book Fair.

– The nomination list is a gold mine for anyone interested in international children’s and YA literature. I hope that this list will be spread and used in all possible situations concerning reading and storytelling, says professor Boel Westin after making the presentation.

Facts and figures
More than a hundred nominating bodies worldwide have proposed candidates for the 2019 award. Among the 246 candidates, 46 % are women, 41 % men and 13 % are organisations. The candidates represent all continents and are authors, illustrators, reading promoters and storytellers. Many have been nominated before, but this year’s list also includes 47 new names. United Kingdom has the highest number of nominees (24).

Click here for the complete list of nominated candidates for ALMA 2019

Announcement April 2
The laureate or laureates of the 2019 Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award will be announced in Stockholm and Bologna immediately following the jury’s final meeting on April 2 of next year. So far, seventeen laureates have received the award; the latest recipient is the American author Jacqueline Woodson. The award rewards works or activities of the highest quality but the laureates must also embrace the humanistic values that Astrid Lindgren treasured.

– The jury now has the challenging but very pleasant and rewarding job of finding one or more laureates for 2019. We have meetings once a month and between meetings we read piles of books and documents. I look forward to learn more about the works and the activities of the candidates, says Boel Westin.

For information or interview requests, please contact
Mariella Kucer, Communications Officer
Phone: +46 (0)76 5401017

The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award (ALMA) is the world's largest award for children's and young adult literature. The award, which amounts to SEK 5 million, is given annually to a single laureate or to several. Authors, illustrators, oral storytellers and reading promoters are eligible. The award is designed to promote interest in children's and young adult literature. The UN convention of rights of the child is the foundation of our work. An expert jury selects the laureate(s) from candidates nominated by institutions and organisations all over the world. The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award was founded by the Swedish government in 2002 and is administrated by the Swedish Arts Council.