Skip to main content

The world’s largest award (EUR 440 000) for children's and young adult literature to be announced on March 31

Press release   •   Mar 25, 2020 14:53 UTC

Previous laureates Jacqueline Woodson and Bart Moeyaert. Photo: Stefan Tell

Welcome to the 18th announcement of the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award (ALMA). The award amounts to 5 million SEK (approx. 440 000 EUR) making it the largest international children’s and young adult literature award in the world. On Tuesday, March 31 at 12:50 pm, the ALMA jury will announce the 2020 laureate live from Astrid Lindgren’s home on Dalagatan 46 in Stockholm. 

For the 2020 award, 240 candidates from 67 countries have been nominated. “It is particularly exciting to have an increasing number of nominating countries. It broadens the perspective of the jury work and open doors to new worlds.” says Boel Westin, Chair of the ALMA jury.

The announcement
The ALMA Jury Chair Boel Westin will announce the laureate(s) of 2020 on Tuesday March 31 at 12:50 CEST at Dalagatan 46 in Stockholm. This is followed by a short presentation by jury member Elina Druker. The Swedish Minister for Culture and Democracy Amanda Lind will perform an official greeting. The program is presented by Astrid Lindgren’s great-grandchild and ALMA jury member Johan Palmberg. Due to the spread of COVID-19, it will take place without an audience.

Live broadcast
The event will be broadcast live. We offer media outlets the opportunity to broadcast the event live on their site via an embed code available here. If you are interested in a broadcast-quality b-roll, please let us know by contacting us at

Footage and images
Content, along with press releases, will be available in our newsroom at on March 31 onwards and throughout the day:

  • Still images of the laureate(s) and audio recording of the phone call to the laureate
  • Broadcast-quality b-roll and still images of the announcement
  • Soundbites with the Jury Chair and the Swedish Minister for Culture and Democracy

To request press credentials, please contact:

Mariella Kucer, Communications Officer
+46 076-5401017, 

The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award (ALMA) was founded by the Swedish government in 2002 and is the world's largest award for children's and young adult literature. The award, which amounts to SEK 5 million (app. EUR 440 000), is given annually to a single laureate or to several. Authors, illustrators, oral storytellers and reading promoters are eligible. An expert jury selects the laureate(s) from candidates nominated by institutions and organisations all over the world. Previous laureates include Jacqueline Woodson (2018), Philip Pullman (2005), Kitty Crowther (2010), Shaun Tan (2011) Meg Rosoff (2016) and Maurice Sendak (2003). Last year’s laureate was the Belgian author Bart Moeyaert. The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award is administrated by the Swedish Arts Council.