Skip to main content

Countdown to World Cup

Press Release   •   May 02, 2002 15:47 CEST

Football fans across the world are beginning the countdown to the World Cup in Japan and South Korea this summer.
The main sponsor for the Danish World Cup team, Arla Foods will use the World Cup for marketing purposes in Denmark, the UK and Sweden.

British consumers can start collecting cards featuring World Cup players with the new World Cup yoghurt, produced at Brabrand Dairy.

This week, Arla Foods is launching a special World Cup 4 pack strawberry and raspberry yoghurt in the UK . The packaging features the World Cup trophy and each pack contains a picture of famous players, including Manchester United’s David Beckham, Glasgow Rangers’ Henrik Larsson and Denmark’s Ebbe Sand.

“Third time lucky?” is the question featured on milk cartons in Sweden. It relates to Denmark’s third World Cup appearance.

In Sweden, milk cartons tell the story of Sweden’s previous participation in the World Cup and beginning next week, four World Cup participants will be featured on milk cartons, including the Danish team. Beneath a cartoon of players wearing Arla Foods’ logo on their shirts, Swedish consumers can read about Denmark’s participation in the World Cup in Mexico in 1986 and about the team managers Morten Olsen and Michael Laudrup.

Wearing the new Arla brand Danish soccer stars Thomas Helveg, Martin Laursen and René Henriksen sample the new Arla Mini – minimilk in plastic bottles – during rehearsals for the Arla Mini commercial.

On Monday, team manager Morten Olsen will announce Denmark’s World Cup team and the following week Arla Foods will begin largescale in-store marketing activities, including a competition. Denmark’s World Cup participation will also be used to market the new Arla Mini – minimilk in plastic bottles as well as the Minimeal and Dream Yoggi yoghurts.

The World Cup opens on Friday, 31 May in South Korea’s capital Seoul, with the final on Sunday, June 30 in Yokohama, Japan.
Denmark’s first game is against Uruguay on June 1, followed by Senegal on June 6 and France, the reigning champions, on June 11.