Skip to main content

Breakout Session Arctic Frontiers Policy - The Future of Arctic Marine Governance

News   •   Jan 24, 2016 12:52 CET

Breakout session Arctic Frontiers Policy - The future of Arctic Marine Cooperation

This panel discussion covers on-going initiatives for strengthening international Arctic Marine governance. Global and regional frameworks exist for many of the concerns arising regarding oceans governance. The Arctic Council has Task Forces focusing on Arctic Marine Cooperation, Scientific Cooperation, and Telecommunications Infrastructure. Previous Task Forces have addressed ecosystem-based management, Search and Rescue, and climate. Globally, a new regime for conserving and using biodiversity and marine genetic resources beyond national jurisdiction is emerging and the IMO has adopted a Polar Code for shipping earlier this year. The process on establishing the outer limits of the continental shelves continues on the basis of the provisions of the Law of the Sea Convention. In the Arctic the Oslo Declaration concerning IUU fishing was adopted in July 2015; 10 nations are now discussing a similar agreement.

This panel, moderated by Alf Håkon Hoel, Fisheries and Oceans Counsellor at the Royal Norwegian Embassy in Washington DC, welcomes the current Chair of the Senior Arctic Officials (SAOs) of the Arctic Council, David Balton. He is the Deputy Assistant Secretary for Oceans and Fisheries in the Bureau of Oceans and International Environmental and Scientific Affairs, U.S. Department of State. He will offer a keynote on the future of the Arctic Ocean, followed by the Law of the Sea, by Margit Tveiten, the Director General of Norway’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs. 

Time:          Tuesday January 26, 14.30-16.10

Venue:        UiT The Arctic University of Norway, Room: Aud 2

Moderator: Alf Håkon Hoel, Fisheries and Oceans Counsellor, Royal Norwegian Embassy,                               Washington DC.


14:30 Welcome and introduction of panel. Alf Håkon Hoel, Fisheries and Oceans Counsellor, Royal Norwegian Embassy in Washington DC.

14:35 Keynote 1: A new Arctic Ocean – thoughts for the Future.

David Balton, Assistant Deputy State Secretary for Oceans and Fisheries, USA.

14:55 Keynote 2: The Law of the Sea.

Margit Tveiten, Director General, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Norway.

15:10 The Arctic Council Task Force on Scientific Cooperation.

Camilla Schreiner, Research Council of Norway.

15:20 Reflections on SAR and Oil spill Task Forces and follow-up.

Jens Peter Holst-Andersen, Representative of Denmark to EPPR.

15.30 An Arctic Council Observer state perspective.

Chanwoo Kim, Arctic Ambassador, Republic of Korea.

15.40 Discussion

16:05 Concluding remarks

16.10 Session ends 

Comments (0)

Add comment


By submitting the comment you agree that your personal data will be processed according to Mynewsdesk's <a href="">Privacy Policy</a>.