Skip to main content

Minister for Industry, Labour, Trade, Energy and Foreign Affairs Greenland Mr Vittus Qujaukitsoq to speak at Arctic Frontiers Policy

News   •   Jan 12, 2017 14:10 CET

We are very pleased to announce that minister Vittus Qujaukitsoq will speak at Arctic Frontiers Policy. Mr Qujaukitsoq was appointed Minister for Industry, Labour, Trade and Foreign Affairs in December 2014. From November 2015 till February 2016 Minister Qujaukitsoq temporarily covered the portfolio of Finance, Mineral Resources and Foreign Affairs. In October 2016, following a government reshuffle, Minister Qujaukitsoq’s portfolio was enlarged to include also Energy issues. Minister Qujaukitsoq’s current portfolio now covers industrial matters, business, labour, trade, energy issues, tourism, foreign affairs and security policy.

Vittus Qujaukitsoq was elected as a Member of Greenland’s Parliament in 2013. From 2013 till 2014 he was Minister of Finance and Domestic Affairs.

Prior to taking up his current functions, Minister Qujaukitsoq was the second deputy chair of the Siumut Party – the largest political party in Greenland since 2011, as well as a mining and resources adviser to SIK – the national labour union of Greenland since 2010.

During his earlier career, Minister Qujaukitsoq has had many important posts within politics as well as corporate posts in some of Greenland’s largest corporations; including Royal Greenland, KNI and Greenland’s national power company Nukissiorfiit.

Minister Qujaukitsoq has also served as private secretary to Ministers responsible for portfolios including Infrastructure, Housing, Environment and Mineral Resources; Culture, Education, Church and Research; Industry, Fishery, Hunting, Trade, Tourism and Settlements; and Social Affairs, Labour and Public Works. He has also served as private secretary to one of Greenland’s two MPs in the Danish Parliament.

From 1999 to 2000 Minister Qujaukitsoq served as the Siumut Party’s Secretary General, responsible for running the party headquarters and secretary for the Parliament group, executive committee and the board of directors.

Comments (0)

Add comment


Agree With Privacy Policy