Universal Music Norge

Over 50 uutgitte spor fra Frank Sinatra i "Sinatra: LONDON"!

Pressemelding   •   sep 24, 2014 17:54 CEST

Våren 1962 fyltes London med rykter om at Frank Sinatra var på vei til byen for å spille inn album. I juni viste ryktene seg å være sanne - Sinatra reiste til U.K. for å spille inn "Sinatra Sings Great Songs from Great Britain". Dette var det første - og eneste, viste det seg senere - albumet han spilte inn utenfor USA. 

Albumet er ryggraden i dette boks-settet med hele tre CD-er og én DVD fylt med herligheter fra London med Ol 'Blue Eyes. Boksen inneholder det opprinnelige albumet pluss 50 tidligere ikke utgitte spor, inkludert BBCs "Light Programme" i 1963, live-opptak fra 1953 og 1984, samt filmede konsertopptak fra 1962 og 1970 på DVD.

Les full pressemelding her:



Sinatra: LONDON’ Contains More Than 50 Unreleased Tracks

London – September 24, 2014 – For several weeks during the spring of 1962, London’s music scene buzzed with the rumour that Frank Sinatra was to record a new album there. Indeed, in June that year, the iconic star travelled to the U.K. to record Sinatra Sings Great Songs From Great Britain.  Recordedover three consecutive nightsat London’s CTS Studios, Great Songs From Great Britain would be the only album Sinatra would ever record outside of the United States. On November 24, Universal Music & Frank Sinatra Enterprises will release Sinatra: LONDON, a deluxe 3CD+DVD and digital audio collection presenting the remastered original studio album with a treasure trove of other London highlights from Sinatra’s career.  The expansive set’s more than 50 previously unreleased recordings include session material from the album, a 1962 BBC “Light Programme” radio special with introductions to each song by Sinatra himself, a 1953 live session for BBC Radio’s “The Show Band Show”, and a Royal Albert Hall concert from 1984. The collection’s DVD features a previously unreleased filmed 1962 concert from Royal Festival Hall, plus a 1970 concert appearance from the same venue with a never before released performance of the classic song “A Foggy Day”.

The sleek book-style set includes a 60-page booklet with a new essay by producer, filmmaker, songwriter, music publisher and author, Ken Barnes, who attended the Great Songs From Great Britain sessions; the album’s original liner notes, newly-written track notes, details about Sinatra’s many visits to the U.K., and several photos of Sinatra in London: onstage, in the studio, and about town. The new collection also includes two exclusive art print reproductions of original London concert posters, and a unique studio panorama from the 1962 recording sessionsfor Great Songs From Great Britain.

Throughout his seven decade career, Frank Sinatra performed on more than 1,400 recordings and was awarded 31 gold, nine platinum, three double platinum and one triple platinum album by the Recording Industry Association of America.  Sinatra demonstrated a remarkable ability to appeal to every generation and continues to do so; his artistry still influences many of today’s music superstars. He also appeared in 58 films and produced eight motion pictures.  Frank Sinatra was awarded Lifetime Achievement Awards from The Recording Academy, The Screen Actors Guild and the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP), as well as the Kennedy Center Honors, the Presidential Medal of Freedom and the Congressional Gold Medal. Today, he remains a legend and an inspiration around the world for his contributions to culture and the arts.




GREAT SONGS FROM GREAT BRITAIN[original album, remastered]

- Originally recorded at CTS Studios in Bayswater, London, England, June 1962 with Robert Farnon and His Orchestra

- Arranged & Conducted by Robert Farnon

1.  The Very Thought Of You

2.  We'll Gather Lilacs

3.  If I Had You

4.  Now Is The Hour

5.  The Gypsy

6.  A Nightingale Sang In Berkeley Square

7.  A Garden In The Rain

8.  London By Night

9.  We'll Meet Again

10. I'll Follow My Secret Heart

Bonus Tracks

11. Roses Of Picardy

12–23. BBC Light Programme

- A special radio presentation with Great Songs From Great Britain track introductions by Frank Sinatra

- First transmitted on October 21, 1962

12. Introduction

13. Sinatra on “A Nightingale Sang In Berkeley Square”

14. Sinatra on “The Gypsy”

15. Sinatra on “We'll Meet Again”

16. Sinatra on “A Garden In The Rain”

17. Sinatra on “I'll Follow My Secret Heart”

18. Sinatra on “The Very Thought Of You”

19. Sinatra on “If I Had You”

20. Sinatra on “We'll Gather Lilacs”

21. Sinatra on “Now Is The Hour”

22. Sinatra on “London By Night”

23. End Credit



- Tracks 1-6: session material from the Great Songs From Great Britain album recordings (June 1962)

- Arranged & Conducted by Robert Farnon

1.  The Very Thought Of You

2.  A Garden In The Rain

3.  London By Night

4.  The Gypsy

5.  A Nightingale Sang In Berkeley Square

6.  We'll Meet Again

7. BBC Show Band Show

- Live radio session recorded for BBC Show Band Show on BBC Radio

- First transmitted on 16th July, 1953

I've Got The World On A String

Day In, Day Out

London By Night



- Recorded at The Royal Albert Hall, London, England (21st September, 1984)

- Conducted by Joe Parnello

1.  Fly Me To The Moon

2.  The Lady Is A Tramp

3.  Come Rain Or Come Shine

4.  This Is All I Ask

5.  L.A. Is My Lady

6.  Pennies From Heaven

7.  Monologue

8.  Luck Be A Lady

9.  My Way

10. Here’s To The Band

11. These Foolish Things

12. Guess I’ll Hang My Tears Out To Dry

13. Don't Worry ‘Bout Me

14. New York, New York

15. Strangers In The Night

16. Mack The Knife

17. Bows: You Are There




- Recorded at Royal Festival Hall, London, England (1st June, 1962)

- Conducted by Bill Miller

1.  Introduction

2.  Goody, Goody

3.  Imagination

4.  At Long Last Love

5.  Moonlight In Vermont

6.  Without A Song

7.  Day In, Day Out

8.  The Moon Was Yellow

9.  I’ve Got You Under My Skin

10. I Get A Kick Out Of You

11. The Second Time Around

12. Too Marvelous For Words

13. My Funny Valentine

14. In The Still Of The Night

15. My Blue Heaven

16. April In Paris

17. You’re Nobody ‘Til Somebody Loves You

18. Monologue and Band Introductions

19. They Can’t Take That Away From Me

20. All The Way

21. Chicago

22. Night And Day

23. Autumn Leaves

24. I Could Have Danced All Night

25. One For My Baby

26. A Foggy Day

27. The Lady Is A Tramp

28. Bows

29. Ol’ Man River

30. You Make Me Feel So Young

31. Nancy

32. Come Fly With Me

33. Bows


- Recorded at Royal Festival Hall, London, England (16th November, 1970)

- Recorded for ‘Night Of Nights’ on BBC TV (first broadcast on 22nd November, 1970)

- Conducted by Bill Miller

1.  You Make Me Feel So Young

2.  Pennies From Heaven

3.  I’ve Got You Under My Skin

4.  Something

5.  The Lady Is A Tramp

6.  I Get Along Without You Very Well

7.  Didn’t We?

8.  One For My Baby

9.  A Foggy Day

10. I Will Drink The Wine

11. I Have Dreamed

12. My Kind Of Town

13. My Way 

Om Universal Music

Universal Music AS er verdens og Norges største musikkselskap og representerer blant annet artister som U2, Rolling Stones, Eminem, Lady Gaga, Rihanna, a-ha, Sissel Kyrkjebø, Odd Nordstoga, Bernhoft, Gabrielle mm. 

Universal Music Group er operative i 59 land som representerer lablene A&M/Octone, Decca, Def Jam Recordings, Deutsche Grammophon, Disa, Emarcy,Fonovisa, Geffen Records, Interscope Records, Island Records, Lost Highway Records, Machete Music, MCA Nashville, MercuryNashville, Mercury Records, Polydor Records, Motown, Universal Music Latino, Universal Republic og Verve Music Group.