Kroatiska Turistbyrån

2020 – Croatia in order for the title of European Capital of Culture

Nyhet   •   Jul 30, 2012 14:54 CEST

place: Brusselsorganiser: ECurl:

On 20 July, the European Commission adopted a proposal for the continuation of the European Capitals of Culture initiative. The existing scheme runs until 2019 and the new proposal lists the order in which countries will nominate cities to hold the title, up to 2033.

In addition to two Member States sharing the title each year, the proposal suggests that EU candidate or potential candidate countries could also nominate a European Capital of Culture every third year. The plan will now be discussed by the European Parliament and the Council; they are due to make a final decision on the future arrangements before the end of 2013.

Future European Capitals of Culture (2013-2019)
2013: Marseille (France) and Košice (Slovakia)
2014: Umeå (Sweden) and Riga (Latvia)
2015: Mons (Belgium) and Plzeň (Czech Republic)
2016: Donostia-San Sebastian (Spain) and Wroclaw (Poland) (See also IP/11/800 and IP/11/766)
2017: In Denmark, Aarhus and Sønderborg are still in competition.  In Cyprus, Nicosia and Paphos are still in competition
2018: The Netherlands and Malta
2019: Italy and Bulgaria
2020: Croatia and Ireland

Since the creation of the title in 1985, 46 cities have been European Capitals of Culture so far. The 2012 European Capitals of Culture are Guimarães (Portugal) and Maribor (Slovenia).

(Source: www.delhrv)

(D.H., 27.07.2012)