Caroline International

ESSENCE releases a new track from 3rd album PRIME

Pressmeddelande   •   Aug 24, 2015 12:30 CEST

Last friday, Danish rock roligans ESSENCE premiere a captivating new track called "Untouchable" on digital platforms and video. The track hails from the band's highly anticipated third album album, "Prime", set for international release on October 2nd via Spinefarm Records.

Watch video here:

Freshly signed with numerous tour booking agents, Essence are ready and willing to take on the world! Originally a Danish foursome with their roots in thrash metal and hatched in the nation's capital Copenhagen in 2005, Essence are no newcomers in spite their young age. After 130 or so gigs and two studio albums plus an EP, the quartet now present their first outing for their new label Spinefarm, signalling a new beginning, a new sort of expression between punky rock energy and good old violent thrashing fun: simple, melodic and almost annoyingly catchy.

Narrowing the gap between the poppy energy of The Offspring and the youthful vehemence of early Metallica and Slayer, “Prime” is where the metal is headed in 2015. Throw in passionate Tom Araya screams for good measure and some modern thrash á la Trivium, and what you've got is a riveting combo of melodic and catchy, yet wildly thrashing metal. Not just a one-trick pony, Essence also excel in writing poppy rock songs like the one on display here, “Untouchable”:

To be released on October 2rd as a CD and eAlbum, “Prime” has stirred a major buzz in its homeland Denmark already before its completion, for being produced and mixed by the super popular Grammy-nominated producer Rune Rask, of Tabu Records and hip hop group Suspekt fame (Kendrick Lamar, Schoolboy Q) . Cover for the album and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for Essence's "Prime":

01. Refuse To Exist

02. Thunder Prayer

03. No Sleep ’Till Def

04. Heart Of Gold

05. Modern Heroes

06. Untouchable

07. Flawless

08. Prime

09. Watch It Burn

10. Triumph


Lasse Skov – lead vocals, rhythm guitar

Mark Drastrup – lead guitar

Rasmus Kalke – bass

Nikolaj Kjaergaard – drums