Göteborg International Film Festival

The eight films competing for The Nordic Film Award nominated!

Pressmeddelande   •   Jan 18, 2010 16:56 CET

Eight candidates will participate in the tough fight for the The Nordic Film Award – SEK 100 000 and the red Film Dragon Statuette.

The Nordic Film Award was inaugurated in 1989. Last year’s winner was the Finnish film The Visitor by Jukka-Pekka Valkeapää. All eight competing films will be screened at the main festival cinema Draken (Dragon), starting Friday January 29 with  Mikel Cee Karlsson’s and Fredrik Egerstrand’s The Extraordinary Ordinary Life of José González.


The competing eight films are:
The Extraordinary Ordinary Life of José González
Directors: Fredrik Egerstrand and Mikel Cee Karlsson (Sweden)
Contact: Erik Hemmendorff, Plattform produktion, 031-711 66 60 erik@plattformproduktion.se

The Angel (Engelen)
Director: Margreth Olin (Norway/Sweden/Finland)
Contact: Thomas Robsahm,producer, +47 95 24 04 18 thomas.robsahm@nfi.no

Sebbe
Director: Babak Najafi (Sweden)
Contact: Camilla Nasiell, Monday, +46 (0)8-661 90 94
camilla.nasiell@mondayrelations.se

The Good Heart
Director: Dagur Kári (Iceland)
Contact: Skuli Malmquist,producer, +35 45 11 20 19
skuli@zikzak.is

Brotherhood (Broderskab)
Director: Nicolo Donato (Denmark)
Contact: Lizette Gram Mygind, DFI, +45 33 74 35 06
lizetteg@dfi.dk, Per Holst,producer, +45 40 30
ph@astafilm.dk

Upperdog
Director: Sara Johnsen (Norway)
Contact: Asle Vatn,producer, +47 23 35 82 45
asle@friland.biz

Last Cowboy Standing
Director: Zaida Bergroth (Finland/Germany)
Contact: Jaana Puskala, Finnish Film Foundation, +358 962 20 30 26
jaana.puskala@ses.fi

R
Directors: Tobias Lindholm and Michael Noer (Denmark)
Contact: Lizette Gram Mygind, CFI, +45 33 74 35 06
lizetteg@dfi.dk, René Ezra,producer, +45 36 18 82 00
filmproduction@nordiskfilm.com


The Nordic jury members are: Johan Jonason, director, Sweden; Erlend Loe, author, Norway; Vibeke Windeløv, prouducer, Denmark; Kirsi Tykkyläinen, Export Manager, Finland; Asdis Thoroddsen, director, Iceland.




PR and Press Manager Göteborg International Film Festival: Camilla Larsson
Tel: + 46 (0)31 339 30 14
Email: camilla.larsson@giff.se

Press Assistants: Nina Natri and Andréas Uppman-Nilsson
E-mail: press@giff.se


 

33rd Göteborg International Film Festival Jan 29-Feb 8, 2010
===================================

Göteborg International Film Festival is the leading film festival in
Scandinavia and – with an audience of 200 000 visitors a year – one of the
largest festivals in the world. GIFF is always one step ahead in the search
for new talent and tomorrow’s stars with:

* The prestigious Dragon Awards, including The Nordic Film Award and TIBIDA
– The Ingmar Bergman International Debut Award.
* The Nordic Film Market, presenting the latest and upcoming Scandinavian
films to international buyers, sales agents and festival programmers.
* The Göteborg International Film Festival Fund, supporting young talent in
developing countries, in cooperation with SIDA.

THINGS YOU DON’T SEE EVERY DAY