The Women in Tech Foundation presents the WIT-award winners for 2015

Press Release   •   Mar 06, 2015 18:23 CET

The WIT Foundation recognises the accomplishments of women in technology, and the organizations that acknowledge their value, through a variety of awards. The winners for 2015 is Malin Arvidsson, Computer Science Student at KTH and Communications Manager at Flic, President Malvina (KTH Female Network), Eva Fors, COO Microsoft Sweden and Elina Berglund, CTO & co-founder Natural Cycles.

The WIT-award consist of three different categories:

- WIT Student of Vision Award
WIT Student of Vision Award recognises a student who has a unique vision of making a difference in media and technology, and has already started making initiatives – large or small – to realise that vision. The Student of Vision is passionate about innovative technologies and inspires others to broaden the participation of women in media and technology.

The 2015 winner of the WIT Student of Vision Award is Malin Arvidsson.

As President of KTH’s women in tech network, Computer Science student and Communication Manager at Flic, our winner is on a mission to inspire the next generation females to pursue careers in tech. Her positive, humble and diligent attitude makes her a true student of vision.

- WIT Leadership Award
WIT Leadership Award recognises a leading woman who has led an important technology development or innovation, made a significant contribution to the media and technology industries, and inspires others.

The 2015 winner of the WIT Leadership Award is Eva Fors, COO Microsoft Sweden

With over 20 years experience in sales and operations at Microsoft, our winner brings a unique blend of technical and management strength to her organization. A recognized leader and relationship builder, she possesses the expertise and passion that inspire many to follow her lead.

- WIT Entrepreneurial Award
WIT Entrepreneurship Award recognises a female entrepreneur that possesses the drive, managerial skills and leadership traits that inspire others to follow her lead. She has created a successful and viable media or technology venture startup (within a larger organisation or stand-alone), turning it from idea to finished product through assertive risk taking and innovation.

The 2015 WIT Entrepreneurial Award is Emma Berglund, CTO & co-founder Natural Cycles.

As if a PhD in Particle Physics and discovery of the Higgs particle were not enough, our winner is now set to revolutionize the contraception market with health app startup Natural Cycles. Her tenacity, resilience and drive are traits true to any successful entrepreneur.

The WIT award, besides the glory, is

1. Student of Vision: Inspirational/fact finding trip to a sponsor office, chosen by the winner
2, Entrepreneurial: Lunches with
Rikard Steiber, Chief Digital Officer MTG and CEO at MTGx
Malin Frenning, Executive Vice President and Head of Region Sweden at TeliaSonera
Thomas Ekman, CEO Tele2 Sweden
Jonas Lindberg, Engineering Site Lead, Google Stockholm
Daniel Ek, Founder of SpotifyUlrika Saxon, CEO Bonnier Growth Media
3.Leadership: Glory :)

MTGx is the digital accelerator of Modern Times Group, and is focused on leveraging MTG’s digital assets and industry leading content portfolio, to create and deliver world class entertainment experiences. MTGx is committed to increasing the development speed of MTG’s digital entertainment services across the world, and provides centralised digital skills and platforms to all of MTG’s businesses. MTGx also works closely with innovation and startup communities around the world, to find and develop the entertainment services and products that will drive entertainment in the future.