Skip to content
EmTech Singapore Announces 10 Regional Finalists for the  MIT Technology Review’s 35 Innovators Under 35 Awards (TR35)

Press release -

EmTech Singapore Announces 10 Regional Finalists for the MIT Technology Review’s 35 Innovators Under 35 Awards (TR35)

5 December 2013 – SINGAPORE – EmTech Singapore has announced the 10 regional finalists from Southeast Asia and Australia/New Zealand for the 13th annual MIT Technology Review magazine’s 35 Innovators under 35 (TR35) list. The 10 regional finalists are eligible for the global list, for which 35 Innovators under 35 years of age as of 1 October will be celebrated at the EmTech 2014 event held in Boston, Massachusetts. The global winners will be showcased in the September/October 2014 issue of the magazine, and online at

The 2014 TR35 list will reflect the variety of approaches that people can take to solving big problems. The Inventors are those creating new technologies. The Entrepreneurs are turning technologies into viable businesses. The Visionaries anticipate how technologies can make life better, while Humanitarians are concentrating on expanding opportunities. The Pioneers are those who are exploring new frontiers, setting the stage for future innovations.

The TR35 regional finalists are to present a three-minute elevator pitch about their technological innovation to the audience at EmTech Singapore. Selected by an esteemed panel of judges, the finalists are:

1.  Juliana Chan, Singapore, Nanyang Assistant Professor (NAP) at the School of Chemical and Biomedical Engineering (SCBE) at Nanyang Technological University (NTU) and the Lee Kong Chian School of Medicine(LKCMedicine), for her work in engineering targeted hybrid polymeric-lipid nanoparticles that cling to artery walls and slowly release medicine

2.  Dr. Michael Hochberg, Singapore, Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering, Materials Science & Engineering, and Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering at the University of Delaware; visiting Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the National University of Singapore with a joint appointment at the Institute of Microelectronics (IME), A*STAR. He is also the director of OpSIS. Michael is nominated for his work in Silicon Phototonics

3.  Goh Ai Ching, Malaysia, co-founder of Piktochart, a web application that assists laymen to create beautiful infographics

4.  Dr. Iqbal Mudasser, Singapore, co-founder of Visenti Pte Ltd, a company that enables water efficiencies in water utilities

5.  Matthew Hill, Australia, Senior Research Scientist at CSIRO for his work to develop a highly-porous Metal Organic Framework (MOF) that, almost uniquely, is stable and able to filter substances in water

6.  Nripan Mathews, Singapore, a senior scientist with ERI@N, an energy research institute at Nanyang Technological University, for work in the discovery of perosvskite, a solar material

7.  Suranga Chandima Nanayakkara, Singapore, Director and Principal Investigator at the Augmented Senses Research Group at Singapore University of Technology and Design (SUTD) for his work designing innovative devices for audio-visually impaired people

8.  Desmond Loke, Singapore, Postdoctoral Fellow, Engineering Product Development at Singapore University of Technology and Design and Postdoctoral Fellow, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology for his work developing a new method using priming to speed up phase-change memory in technology

9.  Yang Zhi, Singapore, Assistant Professor at the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) at the National University of Singapore, for his work in neural recording

10.  Yuttanant Boonyongmaneerat, Thailand, Head of the Surface Coating Technology for Metals and Materials Research Center at MMRI, Chulalongkorn University for his zinc based coating technology to reduce corrosion problems

The next MIT TR35 Singapore awards submission season will open for nominations between 1 April 2014 and 5 September 2014. Submissions can be made at

Related links




Since 1999, MIT Technology Review has identified the top young innovators under the age of 35 who receive the TR35 Award at EmTech. TR35 nominees are recognized annually for their contribution in transforming the nature of technology in industries such as biotechnology, energy, medicine, computing, transportation and the web. Past global TR35 winners include Facebook’s Mark Zuckerberg, Google’s Sergey Brin and Larry Page, Tumblr’s David Karp and Spotify’s Daniel Ek among others.

The TR35 project takes months of effort. It begins with nominations from the public and MIT Technology Review editors. People who have been selected by MIT Technology Review’s publishing partners as local Innovators Under 35 in several regions worldwide are also considered. The editors go through the hundreds of candidates and select fewer than 100 finalists, all of whom will be younger than 35 on October 1. A panel of judges rates the finalists on the originality and impact of their work. Finally, the editors take the judges’ scores into account to select the group.


The Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) Technology Review Magazine each year hosts EmTech a showcase for emerging technologies with the greatest potential to change our lives. The event is also an access point to the most innovative people and companies in the world. Designed to inspire, EmTech is an opportunity to glimpse the future and begin to understand the technologies that matter and how they’ll change the face of business and drive the new global economy. Held for the first time in Singapore, EmTech Singapore will take place 20-21 January 2014 at The Sands Expo and Convention Centre, Marina Bay Sands, Singapore.


Koelnmesse the organizer of EmTech Singapore, is one of the world's largest trade fair companies. Its more than 70 trade fairs and exhibitions have the broadest international scope in the industry, as 60 percent of the exhibitors and 40 percent of the visitors come from outside Germany. The Koelnmesse events include the leading global trade fairs for 25 sectors, such as imm cologneAnugaIDSINTERMOTinterzum colognephotokinaGamescom, and the International Hardware Fair Cologne.

Press contacts

Illka Gobius

Illka Gobius

Press contact Managing Director +65 9769 8370
Theodore Woon

Theodore Woon

Press contact Manager +65 9155 3507

Related content

Related stories