Skip to main content

DeadSocial Shortlisted For The 'Best Internet Bereavement Resource Award' At The Good Funeral Awards

Press release   •   Aug 14, 2013 06:50 BST

DeadSocial are delighted to announce that we have been shortlisted in the Good Funeral Awards 2013. We have worked ridiculously hard over the last year and half to develop a service of value.

We still have a lot to do however we have been overwhelmed with the support shown by users, end of life professionals and the funeral industry alike. The specific award that we have been nominated for is the 'Best Internet Bereavement Resource' award. 

The Good Funeral Awards 2013 Shortlist is as follows

Most Promising New Funeral Director

  • Poppy Mardall – Poppy’s Funerals
  • Charlotte Graham – Charlotte Graham Funeral Directors
  • Sarah Stuart and Lel Wallace – Wallace Stuart
  • Stacey Bentley – AW Lymn the Family Funeral Service
  • Christian Fairbrother – Rosedale Funeral Home
  • Rory Craig – Hinton Park Woodland Burial Ground
  • Hazel Pittwood – FC Douch
  • Leah Edwards – Country Funerals
Best Internet Bereavement Resource

  •  The Compassionate Friends for: Say Their Name 
  •  Right Choice Funerals
  •  DeadSocial
  •  The Natural Death Centre 
  •  Evans Above Online
  •  Pre-Need Funeral Planning 

Embalmer of the Year

  • Liz Davis – freelance
  • Lisa Fox – Southampton area Co-operative Funeralcare.
  • Angie MacLachlan – freelance

The Eternal Slumber Award for Coffin Supplier of the Year

  • Yuli Somme – Bellacouche,
  • Roger Fowle – Willow Coffins
  • Martin Wenyon – Coffins Direct

Most Significant Contribution to the Understanding of Death

  • Jean Francis
  • Pia Interlandi
  • Kristie West
  • The Natural Death Handbook
  • Barbara Chalmers – Final Fling
  • Death Café

Crematorium Attendant of the Year

  • Andy at Colwyn Bay
  • Paul Lawrence at Haycombe
  • Mandy Ryan and Martin McEvilly at Redditch

The Blossom d’Amour Award For Funeral Floristry

  • Heather Gorringe – Great British Florist
  • Donald Thornford — Blue Geranium
  • Helen Pyle — Flowers by Helen

Funeral Celebrant of the Year

  • David Abel
  • Dee Ryding
  • Jan Comley
  • Canon Reverend Eve Pits
  • Barbara Millar
  • Deborah Bouch
  • Sue Goodrum
  • Jill Maguire
  • Tim Clark
  • Georgina Pugh
  • Kim Farley
  • Janice Smith
  • Noel Lockyer-Stevens
  • Lynne Watson

Cemetery of the Year Award

  • Rotherfield Greys
  • Sun Rising Natural Burial Ground
  • Cardiff and the Vale
  • Higher Ground Meadow
  • Clandon Wood

Gravedigger of the Year

  • Stuart Goodacre, Horncastle, Lincolnshire
  • Paul Rackham
  • Steve Swyer, Epsom Cemetery
  • Tom Vassie

Funeral Planning Services Best Funeral Arranger

  • Dee Besley – Rosedale Funeral Home
  • Angela Bailey – Harrison Funeral Home, Enfield, Middlesex
  • Sue Kilday – EH Crouch Funeral Directors
  • Joyce Callaghan – AW Lymn, the Family Funeral Service

The Bereavement Register Funeral Director of the Year

  • John Harris – T Cribb and Sons in Beckton East London
  • David Summers – AW Lymn, the Family Funeral Service
  • Richard Green – Rosedale, Diss
  • Jeremy Clutterbuck – L.W.Clutterbuck
  • Cara Mair – Arka, Brighton

Best Alternative to a Hearse

  • V W Funerals
  • David Hall, vintage lorry.
  • Alba Orbital

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Paula Rainey Crofts & Simon Dorgan
  • Ian Hazel
  • Josefine Speyer
  • GreenAcres Woodland Burials Green Funeral Director of the Year
  • Rosie Grant from Natural Endings
  • Leverton & Sons
  • Heaven on Earth
  • Clandon Wood
  • The Green Funeral Company
  • Jean Francis

Winners will be announced by Pam St Clement (most famous for her role as Pat Butcher in Eastenders) at a dinner in the Ocean View Hotel on Saturday 7 September.

Further information can be found via:

DeadSocial is the social networking tool that enables us to say “goodbye” posthumously to our friends and family. It allows us to say goodbye in our own unique and individual way.

Comments (0)

Add comment


By submitting the comment you agree that your personal data will be processed according to Mynewsdesk's Privacy Policy.