Skip to main content

Death is Only the Beginning - novel by the creators of the KULT universe is now live on Kickstarter

Press Release   •   Feb 15, 2018 14:35 GMT

Death is Only the Beginning - a novel set in the horrifying world of the infamous KULT roleplaying game, written by the original creators of the game - has just been launched on Kickstarter.

The kickstarter for Death is Only the Beginning is the next step for Free League Publishing in making Swedish speculative fiction available for an international audience. The dark and twisted novel is written by authors Gunilla Jonsson and Michael Petersén, who are the original creators of the KULT universe.

Death is Only the Beginning will be Free League Publishing's third English-language book. They have previously released the critically praised art books Tales from the Loop and Things from the Flood by the internationally praised author and illustrator Simon Stålenhag.

Read more about the Death is Only the Beginning Kickstarter:

About the novel Death is Only the Beginning

Amanda Serner casts black Jersey barriers in her Kreuzberg studio. Her grandfather wades through barbed wire in hell. A golden beetle climbs toward the ceiling in Hauptbahnhof. And somewhere in the big city, a plaza opens amid crumbling ruins.

Berlin in the summer of 2017 is a city where reality is starting to fall apart. The old capital of the Prince-Electors is the border between the world we know and the world we have chosen to forget. In abandoned buildings covered by graffiti, doors are opening into the metropolis left behind by humanity. Beneath the villas at Wannsee, a black citadel appears. An old hospital built by angels holds secrets from the time when artists tore down walls and defied authority. A Swedish sculptor comes here, searching for inspiration. Instead, she finds the path to Inferno.

About the authors

Gunilla Jonsson and Michael Petersén ended up on they same roleplaying group in 1981, and continued on that path ever since. In 1984, they played a central role in rise of Swedish RPG as writers of the original version of the Swedish Mutant RPG (of which Free League is the publisher of the current version, Mutant: Year Zero).

After spending the 80s as prolific RPG writers, they started the 90s by creating a horror RPG that has become a modern classic: KULT. At its launch, this modern and provocative RPG, sprung from the goth culture of the time, caused a moral outrage. That didn’t stop it from becoming an international hit, with editions in English and several other languages.

Since then, the duo has been writing adventures for roleplaying games. Now, more than 25 years after first dreaming up the nightmares of KULT, Gunilla Jonsson and Michael Petersén return to the horrific world they once created in this their debut novel: Death is Only the Beginning.

Free League Publishing is a Swedish publisher dedicated to speculative fiction. We have published several award-winning tabletop role-playing games and critically acclaimed art books set in strange and wondrous worlds.

Our first game, the post-apocalyptic Mutant: Year Zero was awarded a Silver ENnie for Best Rules 2015. The sci-fi adventure Coriolis - The Third Horizon, was awarded a Judge's Spotlight Award at Gencon. And we are proud to say that our latest roleplaying game Tales from the Loop RPG based on Simon Stålenhags iconic artbooks made a grand slam at the ENnie Awards 2017, winning five Gold ENnies - among them Best Game.

Our upcoming fantasy RPG is Forbidden Lands, with art by critically acclaimed artist Simon Stålenhag and iconic Swedish fantasy artist Nils Gulliksson, lore by fantasy author Erik Granström and game design by the team that created Mutant: Year Zero, Coriolis: The Third Horizon and Tales from the Loop RPG. Forbidden Lands was the third most successful RPG Kickstarter in the world 2017 and was recently named one of the most anticipated RPGs of 2018 by EN World.

We have also released the critically acclaimed art books Things from the Flood and Tales from the Loop by artist Simon Stålenhag. His third book The Electric State has been released by Free League Publishing exclusively to the backers of the kickstarter campaign.

Read more on our website:

Comments (0)

Add comment


Agree With Privacy Policy