UK Government

Buckingham Palace (National): Buckingham Palace Announcement

News   •   Nov 05, 2010 12:00 GMT

The following statement is issued by the Press Secretary to The Queen

The Queen has been pleased to appoint Mr Neil MacGregor (Director of the British Museum) to be a member of the Order of Merit.


The Order of Merit, founded by 1902 by King Edward VII, is a special mark of honour conferred by the Sovereign on individuals of exceptional distinction in the arts, learning, sciences and other areas such as public service. Appointments to the Order are in the Sovereign's personal gift and ministerial advice is not required. 
Web link:

To be issued at 1600hrs GMT on Thursday 4th November, 2010


Honorary Members

Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela, O.M.
21st March, 1995

Substantive Members

His Royal Highness The Duke of Edinburgh,K.G., K.T., O.M., G.B.E., A.C., Q.S.O., F.R.S. 
10th June, 1968

The Reverend Professor William Owen Chadwick,O.M., K.B.E., F.B.A. 
11th November, 1983

Sir Andrew Fielding Huxley, O.M., F.R.S.
11th November, 1983

Doctor Frederick Sanger, O.M., C.H., C.B.E., F.R.S.
11th February, 1986

The Right Honourable Margaret Hilda,Lady Thatcher, L.G., O.M., F.R.S. 
7th December, 1990

Sir Michael Francis Atiyah, O.M., F.R.S.
17th November, 1992

Lucian Freud, O.M., C.H.
6th December, 1993

Sir Aaron Klug, O.M., F.R.S.
23rd October, 1995

Norman Robert, Lord Foster of Thames Bank, O.M., R.A.
25th November, 1997

Sir Anthony Alfred Caro, O.M., C.B.E.
9th May, 2000

Professor Sir Roger Penrose, O.M., F.R.S.
9th May, 2000

Sir Thomas Stoppard, O.M., C.B.E.
9th May, 2000

His Royal Highness The Prince of Wales, K.G., K.T., G.C.B., O.M., A.K., Q.S.O., A.D.C. 
27th June, 2002

Robert McCredie, Lord May of Oxford, O.M., A.C., F.R.S.
28th October, 2002

Nathaniel Charles Jacob, Lord Rothschild, O.M., G.B.E.
28th October, 2002

Sir David Frederick Attenborough, O.M., C.H., C.V.O., C.B.E., F.R.S.
28th April, 2005

The Right Honourable Betty, Baroness Boothroyd, O.M.
28th April, 2005

Professor Sir Michael Eliot Howard, O.M., C.H., C.B.E., M.C.
28th April, 2005

The Right Reverend and Right Honourable Robert Henry Alexander, Lord Eames, O.M.
13th June, 2007

Sir Timothy John Berners-Lee, O.M., K.B.E.
13th June, 2007

The Right Honourable Martin John, Lord Rees of Ludlow, O.M., P.R.S.
13th June, 2007

The Right Honourable Jean Chretien 
13th July, 2009


NDS Enquiries 
Phone: For enquiries please contact the issuing dept