UK Politics

Labour Party: Ed Miliband welcomes new Labour peers to the House of Lords

News   •   Nov 22, 2010 11:40 GMT

Ed Miliband MP, Labour’s Leader of the Opposition, commenting on the announcement of Labour’s 10 new appointments to the House of Lords, said:

“I am delighted with the new Labour peers that will be joining our team in the House of Lords. They are all excellent appointments and they will be working peers who will actively hold the government to account. 

“They were chosen for their experience across a broad range of fields, and I am sure that they will add to the work of Parliament.”

The 10 new Labour peers are:

Joan Bakewell

Ray Collins

Maurice Glasman

Jonathan Kestenbaum

Oona King

Ruth Lister

Eluned Morgan

Sir Gulam Noon

Stewart Wood

Bryony Worthington