Skip to main content

CNN visits a wintery Oslo Airport

Press Release   •   Feb 13, 2013 07:00 GMT

Photo: Espen Solli / Oslo Airport

Just over a week ago, CNN's Richard Quest visited Oslo Aiport with his "Business Traveller" show. Quest was on a mission to learn how OSL handles Norway`s demanding winter weather. During the course of a very hectic weekend, he got to try his hand at operating the world's largest snowblower and de-icing an airplane. He also found time to visit the control tower and land a plane in a simulator. 

"It was an incrediby exciting weekend where we got to take part in many of the most important functions that are essential to winter operations at Oslo Airport. It was both exciting and nerve-wracking. Anyone who thinks it's a piece of cake to drive the world's largest snowblower in a very carefully planned formation, or to de-ice an airplane, is dead wrong," says Richard Quest.

The Business Traveller programme is broadcast every month on CNN International and reaches 270 million households worldwide. The selection of Norway and Oslo Airport was by no means a coincidence.

"Oslo Airport has been named Europe's most punctual airport on four different occasions, even though the weather conditions at OSL are regularly much tougher than in most other European cities. We wanted to find out how this is possible – and during the course of the weekend – it became clear to us," says CNN senior producer, Rosie Tomkins.

OSL's managing director, Nic Nilsen, thinks it's quite a feather in OSL's cap that such a well-known programme wanted to devote an entire show to winter operations. He also enjoyed meeting Richard Quest.

"First of all, it is very gratifying that we can demonstrate the fabulous job our employees do each and every day. During the course of 2013, we expect more than 23 million passengers to travel to and from OSL and therefore we must use all of our available resources to ensure optimal winter operations" he says, adding:

"Of course, it's particularly nice when a celebrity like Richard Quest gives us the highest marks. I know this makes everyone at OSL proud."

The programme will air for the first time on CNN International, Thursday, 14 February at 09.30AM Norwegian time, and will be shown again on seven occasions. The programme will also be available on CNN's website: http://edition.cnn.com/SPECIALS/business.traveller

Broadcast schedule for ”Business Traveller visits Oslo Airport”:

Thursday 14 February at 0830 GMT / 0930 CET
Friday 15 February at 0530 GMT / 0630 CET
Saturday 16 February at 0730 GMT / 0830 CET
Sunday 17 February at 0400 GMT / 0500 CET


Oslo Lufthavn AS (OSL) owns and operates Norway's main airport, Oslo Airport at Gardermoen. OSL is an important transport hub in Norway with more than 21 million passengers and more than 200,000 aircraft movements every year. Oslo Lufthavn AS is a wholly owned subsidiary of Avinor.

Attached Files

Word document

Comments (0)

Add comment

Comment