UK Government

Department of Energy and Climate Change: Reappointments to the Chemical Weapons Convention National Authority Advisory Committee

Press Release   •   Feb 09, 2010 10:55 GMT

Lord Hunt, Minister of State for Energy & Climate Change, today confirmed the reappointment of Professor Alastair Hay, Dr David Faraday and Mr Douglas Leech to the CWC National Authority Advisory Committee (NAAC), for a further four years.

The Minster said:

"I am pleased to confirm that Professor Hay, Dr Faraday and Mr Leech have all agreed to continue their commitment to the National Authority Advisory Committee.  Their knowledge and experience makes them ideal candidates to take forward the important work of the NAAC and I am grateful to them all for their support"

Notes to editors

1.   Professor Hay, Dr Faraday and Mr Leech were all appointed to the NAAC on 1 February 2006 for an initial term of four years. These reappointments are for  additional four year terms, running until 31 January 2014, and are made in accordance with the requirements of the Office for the Commissioner for Public Appointments.

2. The NAAC was established in 1997 as a lower tier advisory Non-Departmental Public Body. Its primary function is to assist the Department with its task of ensuring that the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) and the Chemical Weapons Act 1996 are implemented effectively in the UK. Further details are available at:

3. All members of the NAAC are appointed by the Secretary of State and receive no remuneration - although members are entitled to reimbursement of travel and subsistence while on official duties.  There are seven members of the committee, including the chairman, all of whom are drawn from the UK chemical industry (the sector in the UK that is primarily affected by the CWC) or academia.

4. All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process.  However, in accordance with the original Nolan recommendations, there is a requirement for appointees’ political activity to be made public. None of the above named have declared any political activities.

5. The Department of Energy and Climate Change is central to the UK Government’s leadership on climate change.  We are pushing hard internationally for ambitious effective and fair action to avert the most dangerous impacts.  Through our UK Low Carbon Transition Plan we are giving householders and businesses the incentives and advice they need to cut their emissions, we are enabling the energy sector’s shift to the trinity of renewables, new nuclear and clean coal, and we are stepping up the fight against fuel poverty.


NDS Enquiries
Phone: For enquiries please contact the above department