UK Government

HM Treasury (National): Changes to the Financial Services Authority Board

Press Release   •   Sep 07, 2010 12:55 BST

Mark Hoban MP, Financial Secretary to the Treasury, today announced the appointment of Margaret Cole to the Financial Services Authority (FSA) Board, with effect from 7 September 2010.

Margaret Cole joins the Board as Managing Director for Enforcement and Financial Crime.

Mark Hoban MP said: 

"I welcome the appointment of Margaret Cole to the FSA Board. Her credentials mean that she will bring valuable insight and experience to enhance further the strength of the FSA Board."

Notes for Editors

1. The FSA is a company limited by guarantee. The Board is appointed by the Treasury in line with the code of practice issued by the Office of the Commissioner for Public Appointments.  View a list of the current membership of the Board ( 

2. The majority of the Board members are non-executive. In addition to the Chairman and Chief Executive, there are currently two Director posts and eleven non-executive members of the Board. 

3. The FSA, rather than the Treasury is responsible for recruiting its own executive staff.  However, under Schedule 1 of the Financial Services & Markets Act 2000 the Treasury is responsible for making appointments to the FSA Board.

4. Margaret Cole joined the FSA in July 2005 as Director of Enforcement.  She is a graduate in Law from New Hall, Cambridge and is a solicitor with over 20 years' experience in private practice, specialising in commercial litigation with an emphasis on financial services.  She is also qualified as a Mediator with CEDR and the ADR Group.

Non-media enquiries should be addressed to the Treasury Correspondence and Enquiry Unit on 
020 7270 4558 or by e-mail to

This Press Release and other Treasury publications are available on the HM Treasury website For the latest information from HM Treasury you can subscribe to our RSS feeds or email service.

Media enquiries should be addressed to the Treasury Press Office on 020 7270 5238.


NDS Enquiries 
Phone: For enquiries please contact the above department