The Nobel Foundation

Carl-Henrik Heldin new Chairman of the Board of the Nobel Foundation

Press release   •   Apr 11, 2013 07:48 EDT

At their regular meeting on April 26, 2013, the Trustees of the Nobel Foundation will elect Carl-Henrik Heldin of Uppsala as a new member of the Nobel Foundation’s Board of Directors. Heldin was born in 1952 and is a member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, professor of molecular cell biology at Uppsala University, branch director of the Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research in Uppsala and Vice President of the European Research Council (ERC).

At its inaugural meeting on May 1, 2013, the Nobel Foundation’s incoming Board of Directors will make the decision to elect Carl-Henrik Heldin as Chairman.

“We are pleased that Carl-Henrik Heldin will become the new Chairman of the Nobel Foundation’s Board of Directors,” says Göran K. Hansson, Vice Chairman of the Foundation’s Board. “Professor Heldin is one of Scandinavia’s most distinguished scientists and a world authority in molecular biology and cancer research. I am convinced that with his good reputation and high integrity, Carl-Henrik Heldin will do an outstanding job for the Nobel Prize,” Professor Hansson says.

“I am pleased and honoured by the Nobel Foundation’s expression of trust and look forward to this important and exciting assignment,” says Carl-Henrik Heldin. “The Nobel Prize has a unique international status and I will do my utmost to contribute to the Nobel Foundation’s efforts to preserve this position and to further develop its activities.”

Mr Marcus Storch, MD h.c., a member of the Nobel Foundation’s Board of Directors since May 1, 1996 and Chairman since 2005, is resigning as of April 30, 2013 since his term of office has expired and he has reached the age of 70.

Contact: Annika Pontikis, Public Relations Manager, the Nobel Foundation
E-mail, telephone +46 8 663 14 70 or mobile +46 70 454 76 72

© The Nobel Foundation, 2013. Nobel Prize®, and the Nobel Prize® medal design mark are registered trademarks of the Nobel Foundation.