Skip to content
Illustration: Karin Cyrén
Illustration: Karin Cyrén

Press release -

​Nominees for the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award 2020 to be announced

Bart Moeyaert, Jacqueline Woodson, Wolf Erlbruch, Meg Rosoff… So far, nineteen laureates have been awarded with the world's largest award for children's and YA literature - the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award. Next year’s ALMA laureate will be on the list of nominated candidates presented by the ALMA jury on Thursday October 17th at the Frankfurt Book Fair. Special guest is the current laureate Bart Moeyaert.

Welcome to join us for the presentation of the candidates nominated for the 2020 Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award. ALMA jury member Mats Kempe will present the candidates and present facts and figures about the nominations. Special guest is the current laureate Bart Moeyaert and you will also meet the new ALMA director Suzi Ersahin. The nomination list of 2020 will be available on shortly after the presentation. 

When & Where:
October 17th at 2 pm at the Frankfurt Kids Foyer 5.1 / 6.1.

About the nominations
The nominees are authors, illustrators, oral storytellers and promoters of reading who have been suggested by more than 100 nomination bodies from all around the world with in-depth knowledge about children's and young adult literature. All countries are invited to nominate in order to promote their literature for young readers and to stimulate reading promotion. Read more here.

The 2020 ALMA laureate will be announced on March 31.

Previous ALMA laureates
2019 Bart Moeyaert (Belgium), 2018 Jacqueline Woodson (US), 2017 Wolf Erlbruch (Germany), 2016 Meg Rosoff (UK/US), 2015 PRAESA (South Africa), 2014 Barbro Lindgren (Sweden), 2013 Isol (Argentina), 2012 Guus Kuijer (The Netherlands), 2011 Shaun Tan (Australia), 2010 Kitty Crowther (Belgium), 2009 Tamer Institute (Palestine), 2008 Sonya Hartnett (Australia), 2007 Banco del Libro (Venezuela), 2006 Katherine Paterson (US), 2005 Ryôji Arai (Japan) and Philip Pullman (UK), 2004 Lygia Bojunga (Brazil), 2003 Christine Nöstlinger (Austria) and Maurice Sendak (US)

For interviews with the jury or ALMA representatives, please contact
Mariella Kucer,, +46 76 540 10 17

Related links



The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award (ALMA) is the world's largest award for children's and young adult literature. The award, which amounts to SEK 5 million, is given annually to a single laureate or to several. Authors, illustrators, oral storytellers and reading promoters are eligible. The award is designed to promote interest in children's and young adult literature. The UN convention of rights of the child is the foundation of our work. An expert jury selects the laureate(s) from candidates nominated by institutions and organisations all over the world. The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award was founded by the Swedish government in 2002 and is administrated by the Swedish Arts Council.

Press contacts

Mariella Kucer

Mariella Kucer

Press contact Communications Officer +46 (0)8 519 264 17

Related content