Skip to content
The jury 2021
The jury 2021

Press release -

Presenting the jury for the Children’s Climate Prize 2021

Every year, an independent jury selects finalists and winners for the Children’s Climate Prize. The jury consists of a mix of people, all with different expertise and interests in sustainability issues. This year’s jury includes representatives from the United Nations with Sam Barratt.

The Children’s Climate Prize jury is appointed every year by the Children’s Climate Foundation and consists of people with different competences in areas related to society, the environment and climate. The Children’s Climate Foundation was founded by the award’s founder, Telge Energi, in 2020.

"It’s incredibly exciting to be chairman of the Children’s Climate Foundation and introduce the people on this year’s jury. Together, they have broad experience and knowledge that will be valuable in the jury work. We are pleased to see some familiar faces and organizations rejoining the jury this year and to extend an extra-warm welcome to the new members," said Foundation Chairman and Telge Energy CEO Johannes Boson.

As in previous years, the jury also has international participation. The jury chair is Johan Kuylenstierna, who is also Chair of the Swedish Climate Policy Council.

The jury of 2021

Rodja Temur WWF Sweden Youth

Rodja has been involved in environmental issues from an early age. She is also interested in social issues such as equality and integration. In addition to being active in WWF Youth, Rodja works with children with intellectual function variations and as a youth leader.

Elin Bergman - "Circular Economy Queen" of Sweden, Chief Operating Officer, Cradlenet

Elin is a key figure in accelerating the Swedish transition effort to a circular economy. She has a background as WWF circular economy expert and was also responsible for business collaborations there. Elin is also the initiator of Nordic Circular Hotspot.

Aishwarya Sridhar - YOUTHTOPIA, Wildlife filmmaker and conservationist

Aishwarya is an Indian nature photographer, wildlife representative and documentary film-maker residing in Navi Mumbai. She is one of the youngest to win the Sanctuary Asia-Young Naturalist Award and the International Camera Fair Award.

Micael Dahlén - Author and Economist, Stockholm School of Economics

Micael is an author, international lecturer and Professor of Economics at the Stockholm School of Economics. He has lectured in places such as Shanghai, New York and Lisbon, for organizations including Google, Ericsson and The Economist. He has been named number 10 in the world in his field of research.

Johan Kuylenstierna - Chair of the Swedish Climate Policy Council

Johan is an Adjunct Professor and Doctor Honaris Causa at Stockholm University. He has worked on Agenda 21 and water resource issues at the United Nations in New York, and was CEO of Stockholm Environment Institute. Johan is an active lecturer and debater, involved in several organizations related to the environment, energy and climate.

Parul Sharma - Human rights lawyer with a focus on sustainability issues

Parul is a human rights lawyer with a focus on sustainability issues. She is also Regional Director of Climate Fairness in South Asia at PVCHR (Peoples’ Vigilance Committee on Human Rights Asia), which works on children's rights, women’s rights and environmental issues with a focus on climate justice in the South Asia region.

Sam Barratt - UN Environment Program

Sam is Head of the Education and Youth Unit at the United Nations Environment Program. He is responsible for the Playing for the Planet Alliance, a partnership with the gaming industry, as well as the Youth and Education Alliance (YEA!) network, which includes around 800 universities from all over the world.

The jury will meet in August 2021 and shortly thereafter this year’s finalists will be presented. The prize winners will be announced in November. The founder and partners of Children’s Climate Prize are involved on the jury’s advisory board and contribute knowledge and expertise in the initial selection process.

The Children’s Climate Prize 2021 - how it works:

  • Nominations are open from March to June
  • The jury is appointed in the spring
  • The jury selects the finalists and winners
  • Finalists will be announced in September-October
  • The prize winner will be announced in November
  • The Children’s Climate Prize award ceremony will take place in November


The Children’s Climate Prize is an international prize annually awarded to young people who have made extraordinary efforts for the climate and environment. The winners of the prize are celebrated at an award ceremony in November in Stockholm, Sweden. They receive a diploma, medal and prize money of SEK 100,000 to continue developing their projects. The prize was founded in 2016 by Telge Energi, the Swedish frontrunner in renewable energy.

Press contacts

Amanda Bjursten

Amanda Bjursten

Press contact Press Contact +46708371430

Related content

Welcome to Children's Climate Prize!

Children's Climate Prize supports young people's actions to bring sustainable solutions for our planet.

Children's Climate Prize
Brunnsgatan 13
111 38 Stockholm