Skip to content
ECB announce squad for Visually Impaired tour of India

Press release -

ECB announce squad for Visually Impaired tour of India

ECB have today announced a 16-man Visually Impaired (VI) squad for their upcoming tour of India.

The side will take on World Champions India in three IT20s before competing in a Tri-Series against India and Sri Lanka.

Sam Murray returns to the squad after taking time out of the sport to become a Para-Rower for Team GB. Darren Paddick has been called up for his first tour after impressing in the Academy and in domestic cricket. A captain for the tour will be announced in due course.

England will be looking to test themselves against two of the best sides in the world in the Tri-Series. All three teams made the semi-finals of the last IT20 World Cup in 2017, with India going on to lift the trophy on home soil.

England VI Head Coach Ross Hunter said: 

“This tour is an exciting opportunity for our squad and the players to continue to develop. Our ultimate goal is to win the next World Cup and to do that we need to be able to compete against the very best.

“We feel that the 16 players we have selected all have the ability to win games for England. This trip will help push them forwards and we are looking to see how they perform under pressure against two great teams. We want players who can develop into World Cup winners.”

ECB Head of Disability Cricket Ian Martin said: 

“This will be another important tour for the squad. Taking on two of the top sides in the world will give a great indication as to where they are as a group and the progress they have made.

“This tour is another step forward for disability cricket. Visually Impaired cricket in particular continues to grow internationally thanks to strong support across the global cricketing community and the work of the World Blind Cricket Council.”

England VI squad


Justin Hollingsworth - Warwickshire

Ed Hossell - Somerset

Luke Sugg - Warwickshire

Jimmy Millard - Sussex

Dan Field - Sussex


Matt Dean - London Metro

Matt Page - London Metro

Sam Murray – N/A

Rory Hossell - Somerset

Gareth Jones - London Metro


Nathan Foy – Warwickshire

Pete Blueitt - Yorkshire

Amin Afshari - Kent

Mo Khatri - Warwickshire

Mark Turnham – Warwickshire

Darren Paddick – Surrey

IT20 Bilateral Series India-England

2nd October 1st IT20 India-England (Bangalore Surroundings)

3rd October 2nd IT20 India-England (Bangalore Surroundings)

4th October 3rd IT20 India-England (Bangalore Surroundings)

IT20 Triangular Series India-England-Sri Lanka

6th October India vs England (Belgaum/Hubli)

7th OctoberIndia vs England (Belgaum/Hubli)

8th October India vs Sri Lanka (Goa)

9th October England vs Sri Lanka (Goa)

10th October India vs Sri Lanka (Goa)

11th October England vs Sri Lanka (Goa)

12thOctober Semi Final (2ndv 3rd)

13th October Final


You'll find all ECB Media Releases and associated resources on our Newsroom >

Press contacts

Ben Walker

Ben Walker

Press contact Senior Media Manager +44 (0)7920 288 720

ECB is the national governing body for cricket in England and Wales.

For general media inquiries please email

Lord's Cricket Ground
NW8 8QZ London
United Kingdom