Skip to content
ECB today confirmed the appointment of four new Board Directors at its AGM
ECB today confirmed the appointment of four new Board Directors at its AGM

Press release -

ECB wins overwhelming backing for creation of a new, fully independent Board of Directors

ECB wins overwhelming backing for creation of a new, fully independent Board of Directors

ECB has announced the composition of a new, fully independent Board of Directors following its Annual General Meeting this afternoon.

The Membership ratified a number of changes, including the appointment of four new non-executive directors - Barry O’Brien, Delia Bushell, Alan Dickinson and Brenda Trenowden – and the addition of Chief Financial Officer Scott Smith to the Board.

The meeting also confirmed the retirements of four Board members; Giles Clarke, Matthew Fleming, Ian Lovett, and Peter Wright.

The new appointments conclude a process of governance reform which was overseen by the Board’s outgoing Deputy Chairman, Ian Lovett, resulting in unanimous approval for wide-ranging changes to ECB’s Articles of Association last December.

In summary, the key changes mean:

  • ECB’s Board of Directors is reduced from 13 directors to twelve.
  • ECB’s Board is formed of three new categories of Directorship: independent non-executive, cricket non-executive and ex-officio.
  • The new Board exceeds the minimum requirements for compliance with Sport England’s Code of Sports Governance.

With Ian Lovett stepping down from the Board, Alan Dickinson will also replace him as Chairman of the Audit, Governance & Risk Management Committee. Colin Graves will serve as the Board’s representative at the ICC.

Commenting on today’s appointments, ECB Chairman Colin Graves said:

“This is an historic moment for the game. We have fully modernised our governance structures – introducing a fully independent Board for the first time.

“These moves will make for good, well-informed decisions – giving us access to fresh perspectives and insights – and a platform for future growth.

“All four of our new Directors are outstanding individuals with extensive experience, knowledge and skills. I would like to thank Allan Leighton for his contribution to the recruitment process which led to their appointment as well as praising Ian Lovett for the invaluable role he has played in delivering such a thorough and comprehensive review of our governance model.

“As we welcome our new Board members, I must also pay tribute to our outgoing Board directors; Giles Clarke, Matthew Fleming, Ian Lovett, Andrew Nash, Richard Thompson and Peter Wright and thank them each for the way in which they have served the game over many years. “

ECB’s new Board structure:

Continuing Directors Membership vote on appointment
Colin Graves Chair Approved unanimously
Lord Kamlesh Patel Senior Independent Director Approved unanimously
Jane Stichbury Independent Director Approved unanimously
Lucy Pearson Cricket Non-Executive Director Approved unanimously
Jim Wood Cricket Non-Executive Director Approved unanimously
Martin Darlow Cricket Non-Executive Director Approved unanimously
Tom Harrison ECB Chief Executive Officer Approved unanimously
New Directors
Delia Bushell Independent Director Approved unanimously
Brenda Trenowden Independent Director Approved unanimously
Barry O’Brien Cricket Non-Executive Director Approved by 37 votes to 3
Alan Dickinson Cricket Non-Executive Director Approved unanimously
Scott Smith ECB Chief Financial Officer Approved unanimously

Notes to editors:

  1. ECB Membership:

    The 41 members of the ECB are the Chairs of the 39 First Class and Non-First Class Counties together with the Chairman of the MCC and the Minor Counties Cricket Association.

  2. Board Composition:

    Under the new arrangements, the ECB’s new 12-strong Board will comprise three different categories of Director:

  • Independent Non-Executive: Four non-executive directors who will be fully independent and need not have a close connection to cricket. This will include one senior independent non-executive director.
  • Cricket Non-Executive: Five non-executive directors with relevant experience drawn from the wider cricket network. Appointees will be required to stand down from any other current cricketing post which creates an actual or potential conflict of interest.
  • Chair and Ex-Officio Roles: Three ex-officio directors, being the ECB Chairman, Chief Executive Officer and Chief Financial Officer.

You'll find all ECB Media Releases and associated resources on our Newsroom >


Kate Miller

Kate Miller

Press contact Director of Communications
Jonathan Reed

Jonathan Reed

Press contact Head of Media & Publications +44 (0) 7525 596 621
Danny Reuben

Danny Reuben

Press contact Head of Team Communications England Men's team +44 (0)7825 723 620 @dannyreuben
Matt Somerford

Matt Somerford

Press contact Communications Manager - Domestic Cricket +44 (0)7551 134 716
Hen Cowen

Hen Cowen

Press contact Communications Manager - Performance (they/them) England Women's team +44 (0)7585 987 302
Chris Tuttlebee

Chris Tuttlebee

Press contact Corporate Communications Lead +44 (0)7824 551713
Matilda Buss

Matilda Buss

Press contact Communications Officer

ECB is the national governing body for cricket in England and Wales.

For general media inquiries please email

Lord's Cricket Ground
NW8 8QZ London
United Kingdom