Skip to main content

​England name ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Squad

Press release   •   May 21, 2019 09:29 BST

National selector Ed Smith (left) and England ODI captain Eoin Morgan pictured at Trent Bridge.

England National Cricket Selectors have named a 15-man squad for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup starting at the end of May.

England 15-man ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Squad

Eoin Morgan (Middlesex) Captain

Moeen Ali (Worcestershire)

Jofra Archer (Sussex)

Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire)

Jos Buttler (Lancashire)

Tom Curran (Surrey)

Liam Dawson (Hampshire)

Liam Plunkett (Surrey)

Adil Rashid (Yorkshire)

Joe Root (Yorkshire)

Jason Roy (Surrey)

Ben Stokes (Durham)

James Vince (Hampshire)

Chris Woakes (Warwickshire)

Mark Wood (Durham)

The World Cup squad has three changes from the preliminary squad, which was announced last month.

Sussex’s Jofra Archer is called up after his debut in the Royal London ODI series against Pakistan. The 24-year-old fast bowler played two matches in England’s four-nil series victory over the past month.

Hampshire’s Liam Dawson returns to the England set-up for the first time since sustaining a side strain during October’s limited-overs tour of Sri Lanka. The 29-year-old left-arm spin-bowling all-rounder has been in fine form for his county, claiming 18 wickets and averaging 45 with the bat during Hampshire’s run to the Royal London One-Day Cup final.

James Vince, the classy Hampshire top-order batsman, is also included having played his part during the Royal London ODI series against Pakistan. The 28-year-old will be looking to add to his 10 caps during the tournament.

From the preliminary squad that was announced last month, Kent’s Joe Denly and Yorkshire’s David Willey miss out on selection.

The squad will report to the Ageas Bowl, Southampton on Friday ahead of the warm-up fixture against Australia on Saturday.


England’s ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Warm-Up Fixtures:

May 25

England v Australia

Hampshire Bowl, Southampton

10:30am (BST)

May 27

England v Afghanistan

The Oval, London

10:30am (BST)

England’s ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Fixtures:

Match 1 – May 30

England v South Africa

The Oval, London
10:30am (BST)

Match 2 – June 3
England v Pakistan

Trent Bridge, Nottingham
10:30am (BST)

Match 3 – June 8

England v Bangladesh

Cardiff Wales Stadium, Cardiff

10:30am (BST)

Match 4 – June 14

England v West Indies

Hampshire Bowl, Southampton

10:30am (BST)

Match 5 – June 18

England v Afghanistan

Old Trafford, Manchester

10:30am (BST)

Match 6 – June 21

England v Sri Lanka

Headingley, Leeds

10:30am (BST)

Match 7 – June 25

England v Australia

Lord’s, London

10:30am (BST)

Match 8 – June 30

England v India

Edgbaston, Birmingham

10:30am (BST)

Match 9 – July 3

England v New Zealand

The Riverside Durham, Chester-le-Street

10:30am (BST)

Semi Finals – July 9 and 11

World Cup Final – July 14


You'll find all ECB Media Releases and associated resources on our Newsroom >

ECB International Media Guide 2019 >