Skip to content
Last year's MEA Sports Awards Balon Sportswear busary winners Joel McKimm (golf) and Katie and Isla Allen (athletics)
Last year's MEA Sports Awards Balon Sportswear busary winners Joel McKimm (golf) and Katie and Isla Allen (athletics)

Press release -

Who will win the silverware at Mid and East Antrim Borough Council’s Sports Awards 2020?

Do you know any sportspeople who’ve achieved big things this year across the Mid and East Antrim Borough Council area?

Perhaps your local footballing hero deserves recognition for THAT winning goal - or maybe your children’s coach has made a difference to the young people in your community?

Whatever the achievement that needs rewarding, it’s now time to get your thinking caps on before nominations open for the Mid and East Antrim Borough Council Sports Awards 2020!

With categories covering every area and age group in local sport, there’s plenty of chances to honour those athletes, players, backroom volunteers and club members who dedicate themselves day and daily to being the best they can be.

Awards are up for grabs in ten categories in total – and voting will soon open for the Junior Sportsperson of the Year, Team of the Year, School Sporting Performance, Sportsperson/Team of the Year, Sportsperson/Team with a Disability, Services to Sport, Manager/Coach of the Year, Sportsperson of the Year, Community Participation and Sporting Hall of Fame titles.

The annual Sports Awards, hosted by Council and kindly sponsored by our local business community, attract top talent from throughout the borough, with last year’s Sportsperson of the Year honour going to Ireland hockey star Ayeisha McFerran from Larne after her outstanding performances at the 2018 World Cup.

One of Ulster Rugby’s biggest names, Jonathan Bell, who has 36 caps for Ireland, was also inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Other winners included Christopher Donald (Cycling), Trevor Calderwood (Motocross), Claire Taggart (Boccia), John Maybin (Rugby), Ballymena Academy (Rugby), Whitehead Bowling Team, and Gary McKeegan (Cycling).

This year, the Mid and East Antrim Borough Council Sports Awards will take place in Larne Leisure Centre on Thursday 5 March 2020, with compere for the evening former Northern Ireland footballer turned broadcaster Liam Beckett MBE.

Details of how to put your chosen sportsperson or team forward for an award will soon be available at with the nomination process open from January 6 to January 20.




  • For Mid and East Antrim Borough Council media enquiries T: 028 2563 5037 E:
  • Join Mid and East Antrim Borough Council on Facebook or follow us on Twitter
  • Mid and East Antrim Borough Council is a multi-award winning local authority which leads the way in the transformation of ever-more efficient and improved public services for its 139,000 citizens. The traditional engine room of the Northern Ireland economy, the borough has a proud manufacturing heritage, diverse and dynamic business community, and a rapidly expanding tourism and hospitality sector.

Press contacts

Chris Kilpatrick

Chris Kilpatrick

Press contact Head of Communications 07721 302 568
Annamay McNally

Annamay McNally

Press contact Press Officer 07721 305 586
Deborah Cummings

Deborah Cummings

Press contact Press Officer 07920 544 094
Megan Mackay

Megan Mackay

Press contact Press Officer 07827 802 643

Related content