Press release -

Portknockie Community Council result

Five new members have been elected to Portknockie Community Council following an interim election.

Diane Anderson, Elaine Davidson, Andy Dewar, John Herd and Bert Reid were among six candidates who put their names forward to join the community council.

The election, which was carried out by a postal ballot, was triggered following a number of resignations which left the council at a point where one-third of the remaining members were co-opted.

The result takes the council up to its full complement of 10 members.

The 42% turnout was the second highest since postal voting was introduced for community council elections in 2009. Of the 986 people eligible to vote, 414 did so.

Details of the vote can be found at


  • Local/Regional influence


  • community councils
  • elections


  • Scotland

Moray Council area stretches from Tomintoul in the south to the shores of the Moray Firth, from Keith in the east to Forres in the west. The council and its 4,500 employees respond to the needs of 92,500 residents in this beautiful part of Scotland, which nestles between Aberdeenshire and the Highlands.

Famous for its colony of dolphins, fabulous beaches and more malt whisky distilleries than any where else in Scotland, Moray is a thriving area and a great place to live.

Headquartered in  Elgin, the administrative capital of Moray.

Press contacts

Sharon Dunbar

Press contact Media and Communications Officer 01343 563046

Peter Jones

Press contact Communications manager Press, public communications, social media, events, FOI, campaigns, crisis comms. 01343 563601