Skip to main content

Bin collection dates over Christmas and New Year

Press Release   •   Dec 23, 2013 13:57 GMT

Residents are being reminded that the dates for their bins to be collected will change over the Christmas and New Year period.

To make sure you know which bins we are due to empty, see your calendar or visit www.bury.gov.uk/bincollections.

Bin collection dates:

  • Monday 23 December - no change
  • Tuesday 24 December – will change to Monday 23 December
  • Wednesday 25 December – will change to Tuesday 24 December
  • Thursday 26 December – will change to Friday 27 December
  • Friday 27 December – will change to Saturday 28 December
  • Monday 30 December - no change
  • Tuesday 31 December – will change to Monday 30 December
  • Wednesday 1 January – will change to Tuesday 31 December

Please put out your bins by 7am and park your vehicles where they will not obstruct collection vehicles. Bin lids should be fully closed, and no extra bags please.

Collections return to normal from Thursday 2 January 2014.

Where can I take my extra rubbish and recycling?

You can take it to any household waste recycling centre (HWRC) in

Greater Manchester. In winter the centres are open every day

between 8am and 6pm except on 25 December and 1 January

when they are closed.

Local centres are at:

Every Street in Bury - 0161 762 4810

Cemetery Road in Radcliffe - 0161 723 5249

Lumns Lane in Agecroft - 0161 794 8832

Visit www.recycleforgreatermanchester.com for more details.

Useful web links and phone numbers:

http://publish.mynewsdesk.com/uk/edit/www.bury.gov.uk/recycling and http://publish.mynewsdesk.com/uk/edit/www.bury.gov.uk/reportaproblem

Info line:0161 253 5555.  Contact team:0161 253 5353.

ENDS

Press release issued: 23 December 2013.