Skip to main content

Candidates declared for Besses by-election

Press Release   •   Apr 05, 2017 11:03 BST

Five candidates will contest the Bury Council by-election in Besses ward in Whitefield which takes place on Thursday 4 May.

The candidates are:

  • Janneke Calle – (The Green Party)
  • Stephen Morris – (English Democrats: “Putting England First!”)
  • Andrea Simpson – (Labour Party)
  • Satyen Sinha – (The Conservative Party)
  • Gavin Warnes – (Liberal Democrats)

The election was prompted by the resignation of councillor Alan Matthews who, with 38 years’ service, was the longest serving member of Bury Council. He was also Mayor of Bury in 1989/90.

  • Are you on the voters’ roll? Closing date to be on the register in time for this by-election is Thursday 13 April. Also, if you want a postal vote, you must apply by Tuesday 18 April. In both instances, email or call 0161 253 5252.


Press release issued: 5 April 2017.