Skip to main content

Prestwich wins vote of confidence in UK Youth Parliament

Press Release   •   Feb 14, 2017 12:27 GMT

The people have spoken – and it’s a clean sweep for Prestwich in elections to the UK Youth Parliament.

Thousands of young people across the borough seized the chance to play their part in the democratic process and choose a new student to represent the borough as Bury’s Member of Youth Parliament.

All schools and colleges in Bury set up polling stations and encouraged their students to vote in the elections.

The students, aged 11-18, had ten candidates to choose from, who had spent weeks canvassing support from young people whether face to face or via social media.

No fewer than 7,403 young people went to the ballot box in a burnout of 40% - some 2% higher than in the last elections to Bury Council!

Numair Khalid of Parrenthorn High School was elected as Bury's MYP with 1,459 votes, and his two deputies will be Viktoria Ouomble from St Monica's High School (932 votes) and Bethanie Mortenson from Prestwich Arts College (912 votes).

Members of Youth Parliament (MYPs) meet regionally and nationally to create manifestos and campaign for issues raised by young people. MYPs meet adult politicians and other decision-makers to create positive changes. MYPs are also the only group other than adult Members of Parliament who are allowed to sit and debate in the House of Commons chamber.

The votes were counted and verified at Bury Town Hall by the council's electoral services team, with support from children's services staff and local councillors.

Councillor Rishi Shori, leader of Bury Council, said: “Bury is determined to ensure that young people’s voices are heard loud and clear both locally and across the country. We pride ourselves in giving young people as many diverse opportunities to have their say as we can, and this election is just one example of this commitment.”

Young people who would like more information about how to get involved can email Heather Walton, youth participation officer, on


Press release issued: 14 February 2017.

Picture: We have a winner! At the count are (from left) Bethanie Mortenson, deputy MYP; Mike Owen, chief executive of Bury Council; Cllr Rishi Shori, leader of the council; Numair Khalid, Bury’s new MYP; Viktoria Ouomble, deputy MYP; and the Mayor of Bury, Cllr Mike Connolly.