Skip to main content

ECB David English Bunbury Festival heads to Felsted School for 33rd edition

Press release   •   Jul 27, 2019 18:00 BST

The ECB David English Bunbury Festival takes place at Felstead School, Essex, between 4-9 August, bringing together 56 of the best U15 schoolboy cricketers from England and Wales.

The famous festival is into its 33rd year and it’s second in its current format as a formalised part of the ECB’s Player Pathway. Trials and assessments for each region have been going on since the winter, with county coaches nominating their top players for consideration for final selection.

Players will contest 50-over and T20 matches for their regions over the course of the week, with educational sessions also delivered to the young cricketers, parents and coaches.

For many young players, the Bunbury Festival is their first chance to benchmark themselves against their peers from different parts of the country. And the process clearly pays dividends, with over 90 former Bunbury players going on to represent England, including 10 from the 2019 ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup squad.

David Graveney, ECB’s National Performance Manager and Festival director said: “The ECB David English Bunbury Festival remains an institution in cricketing circles and we look forward to giving this new crop of young cricketers a great experience at Felsted School.

“The sport is on a high in this country following England’s World Cup win, and with so many of that victorious squad having experienced the Bunbury Festival in their youth we hope this year’s players can take inspiration as they take their first steps on the ECB pathway.

“The best-versus-best opportunities that the Festival presents are what is strived for throughout the ECB Player Pathway. Coming together as regional squads gives players the chance to test themselves in a new environment, against unfamiliar opponents, in a competitive setting.”

David Graveney is available for interview before and during the Festival. Please contact Henry Cowen on the details below for more information.


Harry Gallian (Essex), Jamal Richards (Essex), Charlie Mumford (Hertfordshire), Sam Hadfield (Kent), Tommy Ealham (Kent), Joe McCafferey (Kent), Reiss Walker (Middlesex), Nathan Fernandes (Middlesex), Ben Wilcox (Norfork), Ben Panter (Norfolk), Sam Baldwin (Surrey), Moiz Rana (Surrey), Dan Ibrahim (Sussex), Archie Lenham (Sussex)


James Coles (Oxfordshire), Zach Lion-Cachet (Oxfordshire), Max Simpson (Hampshire), James Rew (Somerset), George Thomas (Somerset), Charlie Sharland (Somerset), Will Gilderson (Gloucestershire), Ryan Kilmister (Gloucestershire), Charlie Brennan (Gloucestershire), Joe Phillips (Cornwall), Callum Nicholls (Wales), Ben Kellaway (Wales), Yousef Majid (Berkshire), Henry Leach (Berkshire)


Zain Ahmad (Warwickshire), Rehan Ahmed (Leicestershire), Jacob Bethell (Warwickshire), Ashish Chakrapani (Warwickshire), Jacob Clarke (Warwickshire), Harry Cooke (Shropshire), Joe Dutton (Staffordshire), Rehaan Edavalath (Worcestershire), Reeve Evitts (Worcestershire), Qundeel Haider (Nottinghamshire), Callum Hawkins (Staffordshire), Rohan Mehmi (Northamptonshire), Nafis Shaikh (Derbyshire), Oliver Walker (Worcestershire)


Harry Allinson (Yorkshire), Thomas Aspinwall (Cumbria/Lancashire), Josh Boyden (Lancashire), Isaac Brooks (Cheshire), Robbie Dawson (Durham), Rhys Ditta (Yorkshire), Clarke Doughney (Yorkshire), Callum Hunter (Lancashire), Matthew Hurst (Lancashire), Stanley McAlindon (Cumbria/Durham), Harry Singh (Lancashire), Yash Vagadia (Yorkshire), Tom Ward (Durham), Matthew Weston (Yorkshire)


You'll find all ECB Media Releases and associated resources on our Newsroom >

ECB International Media Guide 2019 >