Skip to main content

​The Grosch Medal 2018 awarded to Jarmund/Vigsnæs AS Arkitekter MNAL

Press release   •   Mar 20, 2018 09:14 GMT

Oslo School of Architecture and Design, 2000–2001, Jarmund/Vigsnæs AS Arkitekter MNAL. Photo: Nils Petter Dale

The National Museum invited the press to attend the award ceremony of the Grosch Medal 2018. The ceremony took place on Thursday, 15 March at 5 p.m. at the National Museum - Architecture. In connection with the award, an exhibition of the prizewinners’ work will be shown in The Vault.

Jury comment
“Since its founding in 1996, Jarmund/Vigsnæs AS Arkitekter MNAL has been responsible for many different building assignments. The firm has taken on commissions for both public and private developers, including rest areas, installations, villas, cottages, hotels, apartment complexes, interiors, schools, kindergartens, transformation projects and facilities for administration and higher education.

“These projects demonstrate a continuous exploration of spatial and formal contexts. A number of the buildings are characterized by a distinct approach to color and a characteristic and controlled geometry in interaction with the urban environment, climate and topography. Complex construction tasks with conflicting requirements and exacting demands are impressively solved by developing clear concepts. For a period of two decades, JVA has succeeded in maintaining these high standards and the vitality needed to produce architecture at an international level. The firm’s three partners – Einar Jarmund, Alessandra Kosberg and Håkon Vigsnæs – are awarded the Grosch Medal for projects that have been, and will continue to be, of importance to the development of Norwegian architecture.”

The Grosch Medal is jointly awarded to JVA’s three partners, Einar Jarmund (b. 1962), Alessandra Kosberg (b. 1967) and Håkon Vigsnæs (b. 1962). This is the ninth time the award is presented since Sverre Fehn received the first medal in 2001 in conjunction with the bicentennial anniversary of the birth of architect Christian Heinrich Grosch. In 2018, Pål Henry Engh, board member of the National Museum, is presenting the medal on behalf of Groschselskapet.

About the Grosch Medal
The Grosch Medal is a prestigious award given to architects who through their work have promoted the quality of Norwegian architecture. The intention of the award is to encourage the same high quality in today’s architecture as that found in buildings designed by Christian Heinrich Grosch (1801-1865). The medal is awarded to individuals who have made a significant contribution to promoting the quality of Norwegian architecture.

Board members of Groschselskapet
Svein Stølen (University of Oslo), Harald Vaagaasar Nikolaisen (Norwegian Directorate of Public Construction and Property), Nina Berre (National Museum), Hanna Geiran (Directorate for Cultural Heritage), Geir Brendeland (Faculty of Architecture and Design, NTNU), Dorte Mandrup (architect, Dorte Mandrup AS) and Børre Skodvin (architect, Jensen & Skodvin Architects).

Former prize winners: Sverre Fehn (2001), Jan Olav Jensen and Børre Skodvin (2003), Kjell Lund and Håkon Christie (2005), Helge Hjertholm (2008), Carl-Viggo Hølmebakk (2010), Kjetil Trædal Thorsen and Craig Dykers (2012), and Arne Henriksen (2014).

For more information about the award ceremony, please contact Nina Berre, Director of Architecture, the National Museum, / tel: (+47) 901 07 912, or Liv Gundersen, project manager, the National Museum, / tel: (+47) 916 33 003.

Nasjonalmuseet - We Build A New Future For Art!

Comments (0)

Add comment


By submitting the comment you agree that your personal data will be processed according to Mynewsdesk's Privacy Policy.