Skip to content

Press release -

490,000 EUR Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award Presented June 1, 2010

Illustrator Kitty Crowther: half British, half Swedish, and living in Belgium is this year’s recipient of the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award – the world’s largest award for children’s literature. The award was instituted in honor of Astrid Lindgren, author of children’s classics such as Pippi Longstocking. Previous recipients include Philip Pullman and Maurice Sendak.

The award is presented to Kitty Crowther on June 1 by H.M. Queen Silvia of Sweden. The ceremony takes place at the Stockholm Concert Hall and will showcase Kitty Crowther’s work, while spotlighting the importance of quality children’s literature.

Kitty Crowther is an illustrator and picture book artist. She was born in Brussels in 1970 and lives and works in Belgium. Her 35 titles have been published in 14 countries world-wide. Some of Kitty Crowther’s recent titles are Poka et Mine: Le Football (2010) and Annie du Lac (2009) which received the prestigious Baobab medal. For more information on Kitty Crowther and her work, visit

Streaming and broadcast-standard video from the award ceremony, together with interviews with Kitty Crowther, will be made available June 1 at . If you are a first-time user, please take a moment to register. In case you have any questions, please email

For interviews and additional material: contact or +46 (0)76-540 10 17.



The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award (ALMA) is the world's largest prize for children's and young adult literature. The award, which amounts to SEK 5 million, is awarded annually to a single recipient or to several. Authors, illustrators, oral storytellers and those active in reading promotion may be rewarded. The award is designed to promote interest in children's and young adult literature, and in children's rights, globally. An expert jury selects the winners from candidates nominated by institutions and organisations worldwide. The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award is administered by the Swedish Arts Council.


André Vifot Haas

Press contact Communications Officer 0046 76-540 10 33

Children have the right to great stories

The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award was created in 2002 by the Swedish government to promote every child’s right to great stories. This global award is given annually to a person or organisation for their outstanding contribution to children’s and young adult literature. With a prize of five million Swedish kronor, it is the largest award of its kind. Administrated by the Swedish Arts Council.

Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award
Kulturrådet, Borgvägen 1-5, Box 27215
102 53 Stockholm