Skip to content

Press release -

Press Invitation: Guus Kuijer receives the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award

You are invited to attend the 2012 award ceremony for the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award (ALMA).

When? Monday 28 March at 6 pm
Where? Stockholm Concert Hall, Sweden

This year’s recipient, the Dutch author Guus Kuijer, is visiting Sweden from 22 to 29 May. Guus Kuijer will be presented with the award by HRH Crown Princess Victoria at a ceremony in the Stockholm Concert Hall on 28 May.

HRH Crown Princess Victoria will present the award in the presence of Lena Adelsohn Liljeroth, Minister for Culture, and Kerstin Brunnberg, chair of the Swedish Arts Council. The award ceremony will be hosted by Daniel Sjölin and Johanna Koljonen.

Press packs including text, images and video will be available on and on on the 28th of May.

Please let us know if you would like to attend the ceremony. Contact the award office for press accreditation.

More information:
Helene Andersson, Communications Officer
Phone: +46 8 519 264 17, +46 76 540 10 20

Rebecka Svensén, Communications Officer
Phone: +46 8 519 264 20, +46 76 540 10 20

Related links



The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award (ALMA) is the world's largest prize for children's and young adult literature. The award, which amounts to SEK 5 million, is awarded annually to a single recipient or to several. Authors, illustrators, oral storytellers and those active in reading promotion may be rewarded. The award is designed to promote interest in children's and young adult literature, and in children's rights, globally. An expert jury selects the winners from candidates nominated by institutions and organisations worldwide. The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award is administered by the Swedish Arts Council, and was founded by the Swedish government in 2002.


André Vifot Haas

Press contact Communications Officer 0046 76-540 10 33

Children have the right to great stories

The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award was created in 2002 by the Swedish government to promote every child’s right to great stories. This global award is given annually to a person or organisation for their outstanding contribution to children’s and young adult literature. With a prize of five million Swedish kronor, it is the largest award of its kind. Administrated by the Swedish Arts Council.

Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award
Kulturrådet, Borgvägen 1-5, Box 27215
102 53 Stockholm