Skip to content
World Cup winners on the move for year three of the Kia Super League

Press release -

World Cup winners on the move for year three of the Kia Super League

ECB today announced the England player allocations for the third year of the Kia Super League with several of the ICC World Cup winning squad on the move.

World Cup Player of the Tournament, Tammy Beaumont is one of the highest profile movers as she switches from Surrey Stars to last year’s beaten finalists Southern Vipers. Former Stars teammate Alex Hartley will also be in new colours as she heads back to her northern roots to play for Lancashire Thunder. Heading down from Thunder to Stars to replace Beaumont behind the stumps is one of the most prominent keeper-batsmen in world cricket, Sarah Taylor.

Loughborough Lightning and Yorkshire Diamonds undertake a straight swap with all-rounder Jenny Gunn and seamer Beth Langston changing teams.

All overseas players will be recruited and announced by their individual teams in due course.

New Southern Vipers player Tammy Beaumont said: “I’m really excited to be a Southern Viper after a great couple of years with the Stars. I can’t wait to travel to Guildford for the opening game to face my old team mates!

“After being beaten finalists last year, we’ll be aiming to regain our title and become two-time champions.”

Talking about the team news, KSL General Manager Jo Kirk said: “The latest player movements are to ensure the best balance between the six sides and to maintain a fair and competitive competition with the over-arching principle of trying to ensure a best versus best competition.”

“We want the KSL to continue to go from strength to strength in its third year. Attendances rose by 44% last year and we’re looking forward to even more fans attending games this summer, hopefully culminating in a sold-out Finals Day down in Hove.”

The third year of the Kia Super League will kick off on 22 July with all six teams in action. Western Storm will begin the defence of their title at the Cooper Associates County Ground against Yorkshire Diamonds live on Sky. Meanwhile a rematch of last year’s semi-final will see Surrey Stars and Southern Vipers meet at Guildford. Lancashire Thunder and Loughborough Lightning round off the opening games at Southport.

All six teams will be aiming to reach Finals Day at the 1stCentral County Ground, Hove on Bank Holiday Monday, 27 August.

Sky Sports will show 12 KSL matches in 2018, almost doubling their 2017 coverage, including standalone group games for the first time.

Tickets to every match including finals day are now on sale. Details for all games can be found at


You'll find all ECB Media Releases and associated resources on our Newsroom >

Press contacts

Ben Walker

Ben Walker

Press contact Senior Media Manager +44 (0)7920 288 720

ECB is the national governing body for cricket in England and Wales.

For general media inquiries please email

Lord's Cricket Ground
NW8 8QZ London
United Kingdom