Skip to main content

Community council election for Portknockie

Press release   •   Jul 23, 2015 14:56 BST

An election is to be held next month to fill five vacancies on Portknockie Community Council.

Six candidates have put their names forward and postal vote packs will be sent to around 1000 registered voters in the community council area from early August.

The poll will close on Thursday, August 20, with the count taking place the following day.

The candidates are Diane Anderson, Elaine Davidson, Andy Dewar, John Herd, Fraser Milton and Bert Reid. The election of five new members will take the community council up to its full complement of 10.

Portknockie was one of three community councils in Moray where nominations were sought to fill vacancies caused by members resigning or leaving the area and where the point had been reached where one-third of the remaining members were co-opted.

Four candidates came forward for the six seats available on Cullen and Deskford Community Council, while three candidates came forward the six seats on Dufftown and District Community Council.

In both cases those candidates will become members of the respective community councils unopposed.

More information on the Portknockie Community Council election can be found at , by calling 01343 563334 or by e-mailing

Moray Council area stretches from Tomintoul in the south to the shores of the Moray Firth, from Keith in the east to Forres in the west. The council and its 4,500 employees respond to the needs of 92,500 residents in this beautiful part of Scotland, which nestles between Aberdeenshire and the Highlands.

Headquartered in  Elgin, the administrative capital of Moray.