Skip to main content

HMRC tax award winners

Press Release   •   Dec 03, 2013 18:00 GMT

The winners of the HM Revenue and Customs (HMRC) External Engagement Awards 2013 have been announced.

The annual awards, which recognise stakeholders who help to make the UK’s tax system simpler and more transparent, were given to:

·  Public Protection Division of Blackpool Council – for its support of the Blackpool Holiday Industry taskforce launched in July 2013.

·  Karen Thomson – Chartered Institute of Payroll Professionals and member of HMRC’s Administrative Burdens Advisory Board – for helping to ensure that the impact of Real Time Information (RTI) on employers and their payroll processes was minimal.

·  Philip Paur – Deloitte – for his contribution to the development and delivery of HMRC’s policy and operational delivery on expatriate taxes.

·  Brian Palmer – Association of Accounting Technicians – for his dedication to transparency, including being instrumental in driving HMRC’s decision to publish information about post and contact centre performance.

Presenting the awards, David Gauke, Exchequer Secretary to the Treasury, said:

 “There is some excellent work going on between HMRC and the tax community. By listening to and working with tax professionals HMRC can make the tax system in the UK as simple and transparent as possible.”

Edward Troup, HMRC’s Tax Assurance Commissioner and second Permanent Secretary, said:

“HMRC is committed to delivering a better and more transparent tax system. Insight and support from the tax profession and the voluntary sector is an essential part of this. Tonight celebrates the excellent work of the private sector in helping make the tax system better for everyone.”

The awards took place on 3 December at HMRC’s offices in 100 Parliament Street, London. The winners were chosen by their peers in the tax community, using these criteria:

·  Commitment – has made a significant individual commitment, either over a

period of time or in relation to a specific initiative, to drive forward clarity and ease of use of the tax system, above and beyond their professional position.

·  Customer focus –has improved, and championed, customer understanding which has enabled processes, legislation or policies to be better designed from the perspective of both the customer and HMRC.

·  Clarity – through their commentary and active contribution they have identified the need for greater clarity and worked with HMRC to achieve a positive change and greater ease of use of the tax system.

Notes to editors

1.  Members of the panel:

External panel members:

Paul Aplin – Institute of Chartered Accountants of England & Wales

Rosina Pullman – Tax Aid

Mike Truman – Taxation magazine

Internal panel members:

Jim Harra – Director General, Business Tax

Ruth Owen – Director General, Personal Tax

Jennie Granger – Director General of Enforcement and Compliance

2. 2012 winners were:

·  Paul Aplin – Institute of Chartered Accountants of England & Wales

·  Peter MacSwineyASM UK Ltd

·  TaxAid

·  Will Morris – Director of Global Tax Policy at General Electric

2011 winners were:

·  Sarah Gillett – UK Ambassador to Switzerland and Liechtenstein

·  Paddy Millard – retired Chief Executive Officer, Tax Help for Older People


·  Rebecca Benneyworth – contributing editor of Accounting Web

·  Mike Sufrin – retired Director of Tax, Rolls Royce

  2010 winners were:

·  John Andrews – Low Incomes Tax Reform Group

·  Teresa Graham – chair of Administrative Burden Advisory Board (ABAB)

·  Julie Hughff – tax partner, KPMG

·  Peter van Dijk – Senior Vice President, Taxation TD Bank Financial Group

3. Photographs of the event are available on HMRC’s flickr channel

4. Follow HMRC on Twitter @HMRCgovuk

Issued by HM Revenue & Customs Press Office

HM Revenue & Customs (HMRC) is the UK’s tax authority.

HMRC is responsible for making sure that the money is available to fund the UK’s public services and for helping families and individuals with targeted financial support.