Skip to content

Press release -


Biannually, since 1980, the prestigious Applause Award honours a park whose management, operations and creative accomplishments have inspired the industry with foresight, originality, and sound business development.

In 2022, the award was handed out for the 20th time, this time to Tokyo DisneySea, Japan, joining the list of some of the best parks in the world. In 2024, however two major changes will be made to the Award-schedule:

First, the award will from 2024 transition to becoming an annual award. Further, the scope of the award will be broadened to include other types of attractions – for example water parks, zoos, and resorts – that meet the award criteria.

“The Applause Award was one of the first awards celebrating the amusement- and theme park industry”, says Andreas Veilstrup Andersen, President and CEO, Liseberg Group and Chairman of The Applause Award Board of Governors. “With the transition into an annual award, and with a somewhat broader definition of what an amusement or theme park can look like in the 21st century, the award will continue to stay relevant and even better reflect the ever-evolving attractions industry.”

“We are very excited that the Applause Award will join IAAPA Honors. The idea with this new event is to celebrate excellence in the global attractions industry but also put an emphasis on what each one of the attendees can learn from the award winners to improve their own business,” says Jakob Wahl, CEO & President of IAAPA.

    Second, the Applause Award will move from an IAAPA Expo timeslot to the new IAAPA Honors celebration, taking place for the first time in Las Vegas on March 3, 2024. IAAPA Honors will celebrate the 2024 IAAPA Hall of Fame Inductees, the 2024 IAAPA Service and Young Professional honourees, and winners of the IAAPA Brass Ring Awards.

    The winner of the 2024 Applause Award will be announced at the IAAPA Honors ceremony. Tickets for the IAAPA Honors are now available online.

    Previous winners of The Applause Award:

    1980 Magic Kingdom, Walt Disney World, USA 2002 Busch Gardens, Williamsburg, USA
    1982 Opryland, USA 2004 Holiday World & Splashing Safari, USA
    1986 Epcot Center, USA 2006 Universal´s Islands of Adventure, USA
    1988 Knott´s Berry Farm, USA 2008 Xetulul, Guatemala
    1990 EuropaPark, Germany 2010 Dollywood, USA
    1992 Efteling, the Netherlands 2012 Ocean Park, Hong Kong
    1994 Universal Studios, Florida, USA 2014 Puy du Fou, France
    1996 Cedar Point, USA 2016 Busch Gardens Tampa, USA
    1998 Silver Dollar City, USA 2018 Xcaret, Mexico
    2000 Hershey Park, USA 2022 Tokyo DisneySea, Japan

    For more information:

    Andreas Veilstrup Andersen, phone +46 761 00 8000

    Patrick Haller, phone: +1 321/319-7600

    Related links



    Andreas Andersen

    Andreas Andersen

    CEO Liseberg AB +46 31-766 7100

    Liseberg - the most beloved destination

    Liseberg is one of the leading amusement parks in Europe, offering top-notch entertainment, attractions, restaurants, and accommodation. Every year, the park welcomes approximately 3 million visitors, making Liseberg Sweden's most visited destination.

    Box 5053
    402 22 GÖTEBORG
    Visit our other newsrooms