Skip to content
​East ward councillor Trevor Holt is new Mayor of Bury

Press release -

​East ward councillor Trevor Holt is new Mayor of Bury

East ward councillor Trevor Holt has been sworn in as the new Mayor of Bury for the municipal year 2019/20.

Cllr Holt took over the chains of office from Prestwich councillor Jane Black at the annual meeting of Bury Council on Wednesday (15 May).

It’s second time around for Cllr Holt, who was previously mayor in 1996/97. He is Bury’s second longest serving councillor, with 36 years serving the ward in which he was born and grew up.

His wife Evelyn, with whom he has 3 children, 4 grandchildren and 1 great grandchild, will serve as the mayoress.

“This is a very great honour you have bestowed on me and I am very grateful,” he said. “Evelyn and I will do our very best to fulfil the duties of our new roles to everyone’s satisfaction; to serve the borough well and show that we are worthy of the confidence and the trust you have placed in us.”

A retired postman, Cllr Holt has strong connections with Broad Oak and Fairfield schools and is involved with many local organisations. These include Little Oaks Children’s Centre, The Birtle Trust, Walnut Avenue Allotments Centre, and Topping Fold and Pimhole TRAs.

Over the last 36 years he has held many influential positions at the council. He chaired a number of committees, including social services, housing and licensing, and was a cabinet member for lifelong learning, health and wellbeing and economic and social regeneration. He also chaired the former Bury East Area Board.

The mayor has chosen two organisations to benefit in particular from the Mayoral Charity Appeal – Bury Hospice and Buddies for Children with Autism.

A Mayoral Service will be held at Guardian Angels Church on Sunday 19 May at 11.30am. The mayor’s chaplain will be Father Paul Cannon.

Redvales councillor Shaheena Haroon was installed as deputy mayor for the coming year, and her husband Raja Haroon Khan as deputy mayor’s consort.


Press release issued: 17 May 2019.

Picture: The new Mayor and Mayoress of Bury, Cllr Trevor Holt and his wife Evelyn.

Related links




Press contacts

Peter Doherty

Peter Doherty

Press contact Press Officer Press Office

Committed to providing good quality services to our residents

Bury Council consists of six towns, Bury, Ramsbottom, Tottington, Radcliffe, Whitefield and Prestwich. Formed in April 1974 as a result of Local Government re-organisation it was one of the ten original districts that formed the County of Greater Manchester. The Borough has an area of 9,919 hectares (24,511 acres) and serves a population of 187,500.

Bury Council
Knowsley Street
BL9 OSW Bury, Lancashire