Skip to content
Village Link brings hi-tech walking route to countryside

Press release -

Village Link brings hi-tech walking route to countryside

Walkers keen to discover scenic attractions in the north of Bury now have a hi-tech aid to help them.

The Village Link is a brand new Walking Loop around the six rural villages of Affetside, Ainsworth, Greenmount, Hawkshaw, Holcombe and Nangreaves.

Maps and directions have been uploaded to the site, which can be found at

The walks were designed by residents from each village, and more than 300 waymarks to flag the way, in both directions, have been installed.

The project is the brainchild of Bury Rural Inequalities Forum (BRIF), with help from Bury Council and particularly its public rights of way officer David Chadwick.

Dr Falmai Binns, chair of BRIF, said: “We want to encourage families and new walkers to get out and enjoy Bury’s beautiful countryside. Village Link allows you to plan your day out: just click on any link on the Master Map on the home page, and it will take you to the more detailed map of your choice.

“The directions contain lots of interesting nuggets of history en route plus beautiful artwork by our favourite artist Janet Brady. Bury Council not only gave some new marker posts, but also erected them.

“The website has its own Facebook page where walkers can post their favourite photos of the routes for others to enjoy. It also has contact emails to report any repairs that are needed, and links to transport links and alerts to cafes and pubs in each village and along the route.

“We suggest simply walking from one village to the next one of choice, then walking back, and enjoying the different views and gradients.”

Funding for the project was provided by Forever Manchester and through Bury Council’s township

Councillor Jane Lewis, cabinet member for communities and culture, said: “Bury boasts a lot of beautiful countryside, and it’s fantastic that we can use the latest hi-tech developments to encourage people to get out and about for a healthy walk and visit our more rural communities.”


Press release issued: 29 September 2014.

Related links




Press contacts

Peter Doherty

Peter Doherty

Press contact Press Officer Press Office

Committed to providing good quality services to our residents

Bury Council consists of six towns, Bury, Ramsbottom, Tottington, Radcliffe, Whitefield and Prestwich. Formed in April 1974 as a result of Local Government re-organisation it was one of the ten original districts that formed the County of Greater Manchester. The Borough has an area of 9,919 hectares (24,511 acres) and serves a population of 187,500.

Bury Council
Knowsley Street
BL9 OSW Bury, Lancashire